We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lads get away”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sefton House

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Lounge Sefton House self catering in Keswick Cumbria
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Lounge
Lounge
Sefton House self catering in Keswick Cumbria
Kitchen complete with dishwasher (laundry just down the road)
Surrounded by the northern fells
Main bathroom (shower over bath)
Twin bedroom
Bunk Bedroom
Twin bedroom
ensuite shower room
Kitchen
Double bedroom
Dining Room
Main bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HelenS497
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nicely appointed and good for a weekend walkinh”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Eight of us stayed for a weekend of walking. The bedrooms are nicely appointed and the bathrooms are new and great which good shower pressure and temperature (shower cubicle in en suite did have a long hair in it though....). The decor is pretty good throughout and the place was clean. Dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid and tea towels are provided but hand soap isn't and we couldn't find a hair dryer anywhere which was quite annoying. Kitchen is well appointed. We cooked three big meals and the dining room is big enough to sit everyone together. The walls to next door are pretty thin though so I suspect we probably disturbed them by staying up late and they disturbed us by getting up early! Parking is tricky, as it is everywhere in Keswick. Location is v convenient though.
The house is nice and it suited our needs (which is why I would recommend it) but I think it's overpriced (so I probably wouldn't stay again) - we had a discount but without it we could have stayed in a b&b for equivalent cost.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: bathrooms
Liked least: dining room
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hursty198...
Leigh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lads get away”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Sefton house was an excellent base for our lads weekend away. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were able to relax and enjoy.

The weather was great for our walk up Helvellyn and striding edge. After being up in the hills it was great to come back and have a hot shower and 5 minutes after walking out the door have a beer in hand.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun weekend”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The house was a perfect base for 8 lads on a walking weekend. Clean, big, parking available, near to the town and pubs and close to all the lakes, walks and mountains. Would book again in a second.
Thanks

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reshanga
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great. Relaxing and well maintained. Plenty of free on street parking”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Travelled as group of eight. Comfortable spacious bedrooms. Well maintained and within 5 minutes walking/close distance of main high street with all shops/restaurants. Plenty of parking space on street even on a bank holiday weekend. Definitely recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaCDE
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“LOVELY SPACIOUS TOWN HOUSE 5 MIN BRISK WALK TO TOWN CENTRE”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Set over three floors, this property was the ideal set up for our two families. Four adults and four kids, age 7 to 11.
Good size, well proportioned rooms and cosy sitting room for the evening to relax in after our days out walking.
Well stocked kitchen with a large number of cooking untensils, saucepans and pyrex casserole dishes. Everything there that you need.

Loved the close proximity to the centre of Keswick. Small supermarket just a road away for milk etc. The laundrette is just several metres from the front door, although we didn't notice it until the day we left as quite discreet. Note- no washing machine but we didn't find this a problem. The laundrette is always on your doorstep if you should need it.
Streets busy with cars parked but we never found it a problem to park both cars after a day out. We always found spaces either opposite house or just a little further along the road.

Being fans of Keswick and the surrounding area and having stayed in various houses and cottages over the years, we found this a good property to stay in. We would happily return and would recommend, particularly as a family with children. To name but a few things- you can walk from the door to the swimming pool, along the disused railway, to the Pencil Museum and into the town without having to get in your car!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing