We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
View of house from Front Gate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of house from Front Gate
Front Door from the private drive Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
View of house from Front Gate
Front Door from the private drive
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Dining Room with chairs for 12
Kitchen range style cooker, microwave, fridge, dishwasher
Kitchen with table for 6
Games room  with Piano and option of using the table tennis table
Annex room with TV
HELVELLYN BEDROOM
Has en suite bath and toilet and views to Helvellyn
HELVELLYN BEDROOM ( another angle)
Has en suite bath and toilet and views to Helvellyn
Helvellyn en-suite
Swallow room
Swallow room ( another angle)
Friars Crag Bedroom
Friars Crag en-suite
Blencathra Bedroom
It has en-suite shower and toilet
Triemain bedroom
Triemain bedroom
Triemain en-suite
Back Garden
Old Vicarage parking
Car Park area with space for  5 or more cars
Old Vicarage additional garden view
Naddle Winter
Sunset view of Helvellyn from the Old Vicarage
Thirlmere in winter
Thirlmere  nearby lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs e h
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Lovely big house with plenty of space for a large family get together everything you need provided and more.Great gardens with fantastic views sorry had to come home best English holiday we have had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Not enough council bins
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DayTrip56...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!!”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked The Old Vicarage for a group of 12 for my sisters hen do. As we drove down the driveway we were blown away by the beauty of the property and its surroundings. We had 4 double rooms and 1 room that slept 4 people - all of which have ensuite bathrooms. I was offered a choice by the owner if I would prefer either 3 beds to be made up downstairs or to have the extra beds put into the bedrooms, I thought it would be nice if we were all together upstairs. The kitchen was well equipped and all 12 of us sat happily around the dining table for breakfast and dinner. We made good use of the games room and even sat around the fire in the living room on the evening. Absolutely perfect venue for the weekend, I couldn't be happier and I will definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, equipment, location, service received, size. Everything !!
Liked least: Really couldn't fault it !!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sh_B2012
1 review
“Great location and family friendly house”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The house was very clean and and family friendly, games room kept children busy in the evenings and lounge area was great for adults to socialise. Lot of space in the house for large family get together. Location was lovely and great for walks and climbing the nearby hills in the early hours of the morning. A short drive away from the lakes and other activities. Would definitely return again and highly recommend this place. The owner was very good with responding to email enquiries and took care of our needs for a large group with quite a few children.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing