We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my Sunday Roast”
Review of The George

The George
Ranked #26 of 156 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Excellent Pub Food in the heart of Keswick. Comfortable restaurant as well as bar food
Reviewed 6 November 2018

I went to the George with a works lunch on a Sunday and was given the choice of Beef,Pork, Or Chicken we all ordered all our meals and they came out in no time,
good plate full and very tasty.
We all commented how nice the food was and served by friendly staff

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MikexJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 1,705 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018

We called in yesterday during a brief visit to Keswick.

We'd been a few times before and had never eaten here but the food always looked good and there's always a nice friendly atmosphere.

We were just going to get a coffee and a sandwich somewhere but noticed their 2 for 1 offer outside so called in.

We had Fish and Chips and the Sweet and Sour Pork Balls.

The portions were adequate and the quality was very good..all at £10.95 for 2 meals.

Keswick is starting to get a reputation for being expensive so it was very nice to go somewhere for a nice meal without feeling ripped off.

Would have loved to try their famous Cow Pie but it would have been too filling for a lunchtime followed by a long drive home!

Thoroughly recommended for a lunchtime visit.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brufsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful meal here in such a cosy and welcoming place. The food is home cooked and hearty. Great value for money.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

After a day climbing mountains or walking in the fresh air of the lakes everyone needs a big meal to fill them up and a few good pints to make them rosy cheeked. The George is the place for this. I’ve been many times. Over the years I’ve had most of their menu and it’s always very good. Sea bass, mussels, large (and I mean large) pies! It’s a pub on one side and a restaurant on the other and both have a great atmosphere. Considering its popularity, it’s reasonably priced and it’s baby friendly (at least in the restaurant). It’s also right in the heart of Keswick so after a few Cumberland ales and a belly full of pie you can roll straight home. Mint. Go and eat a full cow pie.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank TheDrunkenWhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

Visited here whilst on holiday in the local area. We cannot comment on food as we only had a drink in the bar area but we found staff to be friendly and prices very resonable..would definetly visit again if in the area.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Hayley2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing