We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wednesday Lunch”
Review of Oddfellows Arms

Oddfellows Arms
Ranked #9 of 12 Quick Bites in Keswick
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was raining and lunchtime so went into Oddballs for lunch
We both had soup June had vegetable while I had homemade Tomato which were lovely.
Mains we both had the Cumberland sausage with veg and chips in a giant Yorkshire Pudding was too much after the soup but very tasty. Only downside was Cumberland Sausage was over cooked.
Not bad hit the spot.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank neilwatson54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2018

we went for dinner after a hard days hiking. right in the middle of Keswick high street and we saw the menu - giant yorkshire puddings! mmmm yes they were giant and lush but so was the lasagne. Good portions for £6 - cant go wrong.
Had a slight emergency situation while in there and the staff and customers all came to help. The landlord was even prepared to take a dog home to babysit during the situation.
I would definitely return, nice cosy pub, not too pricey at bar and nice to sit in and chat.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lynny5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

The Oddfellows Arms is a dog friendly pub in the middle of Keswick and offers good quality food and drink in the middle of Keswick. We had Pea and Ham soup as starters and it was a hearty meaty broth. Our main courses were simple and decent portions, but the food was served on very cold plates which was a bit disappointing. It’s a long thin traditional pub and it caters for a high turnover of people at peak times. No fuss or frills here but decent food and served quickly so it’s good value.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

Called into this pub for a pint and was drawn into the great looking and smelling food we had the giant Yorkshire puddings with beef stew and Cumberland sausage bargain price of 5.95!! All home cooked and tasty for the price defo return.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank iankerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

I'm really uncomfortable when writing any kind of review that isn't complimentary, however, I just feel that I can't let this one go. We went here after walking through town and wanted to find somewhere to have a drink late afternoon as the weather was changeable and we couldn't risk being outside and we didn't fancy a coffee shop type of visit. Given it's location we felt confident that we could get a decent drink as it was a pub, how wrong we were. It was like stepping back in time when we walked in with disinterested staff and poor customer service. My partner had her usual tipple of gin and tonic but this was served in a very poor traditional cheap half pint glass and when we politely asked if we could have it in any other type of glass we were greated with the reply, it is what it is, take it or leave it by the guy behind the bar with long goatey beard and long hair in a pony tail who seemed that he couldn't be any more disinterested in us if he tried. On reflection we should have walked out then as we noted how rude all of the bar staff were to any of the customers who asked for anything different to that of what they were served. In this day and age and with the fact that the prices didn't reflect a lower standard, I feel that the least that you can do is serve a fairly expensive gin for what it is (we had no choice other than Gordons and a standard tonic) to offer your fee paying customer a good glass to drink it in, how can you get away with this kind of approach given the competition that is available in town and also the location - at the end of the day there are plenty of other places in the town who are far more deserving of the custom. The food is very reasonably priced but of a lower quality and is obviously catered for a particular market but surely in 2018 Keswick deserves something better, nothing at all posh or Michelin Starred but good honest pub drinks and service, the rest of them on the whole appear to be offering it.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank crantockalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oddfellows Arms also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Oddfellows Arms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing