We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cameron/Newall September Weekend 2015”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Living room with wood burning stove
Meadow View Barn is located within Simgill Farm where Alpacas roam over its many acres
Main bathroom with separate shower cubicle
Oak dining table seating 12
One of the en suites
Views from the kitchen door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cameron/Newall September Weekend 2015”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My family, (8 adults and 4 grandkids) descended on Meadow View Barn for the Glasgow September Weekend. This converted barn was stunning. Beautifully decorated and very well appointed. It had everything you could possibly want for a self catering holiday. The owners, Joe & Wendy were very pleasant people, who even took time out of their very busy working schedule, to let my grandkids feed the Alpacas and tell us all about them. The property is not too far from Bowness on Windermere, which opens up all sorts of activities, and Kendal. A great time was had by all and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property to my family and friends. I honestly hope to have the opportunity to return there in the not too distant future.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbie956
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant weekend”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Great property - would recommend to anyone - was just as good as the pictures if not better!
and alapaca feeding finished the weekend off nicely! Everyone of our 17 hen party group very happy!! Thank you

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loughras
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“JUST AMAZING”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Had an amazing 5 days at Meadow View Barn with friends for a 70th birthday celebration. Joe & Wendy made us very welcome, and feeding the Alpacas was a highlight of the holiday for us all. The house is beautiful and so spacious, everything you could possibly need is there for you.
We will definitely go back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: The access road!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cannot recommed enough”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The moment we walked through the door we were blown away with the luxury of the house. I went with 12 other female friends to celebrate a friends hen party, and I could not have picked a better location to stay. Joe and Wendy are very friendly and a pleasure to deal with. I cannot recommend this house enough! The house is well furnished and has everything you need.

For those who wonder about the night life in Kendal, (as I had no idea when booking it and took a chance) - Its about a 10-15 min drive from the centre of Kendal, cost us about £30 in a taxi on the way home. There are plenty of pubs and a couple of nightclubs, bootleggers was the busiest. This house made the hen party for us! Get it booked. Perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: That we had to go home
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennyFalc...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“luxurious and comfortable accommodation in a stunning setting”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Spacious, comfortable, tasteful and well equipped accommodation.
Joe and Wendy are the very helpful and friendly owners.
Alpaca feeding and fresh duck eggs highly recommended.
Kendal accessible, about a twenty minute drive through the countryside to get there.
We got an on-line shop delivered which made life easy.
Some take aways do delivery, we used the Thai Kitchen, the food was excellent.
Neighbouring properties were occupied, but each house is secluded enough to be almost oblivious of your neighbours if you want to be.
A fantastic weekend in a lovely property with helpful and friendly owners in a beautiful setting.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the high standard of the refurb and decor, surrounding scenery and alpacas
Liked least: the drive into Kendal
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing