We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property
A warm welcome awaits you in a quiet rural setting, an easy 5-10 minute walk to the village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A warm welcome awaits you in a quiet rural setting, an easy 5-10 minute walk to the village
Comfortable sofas and chairs, logburner; antique brass wall lights and chandelier in the lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
A warm welcome awaits you in a quiet rural setting, an easy 5-10 minute walk to the village
Comfortable sofas and chairs, logburner; antique brass wall lights and chandelier in the lounge
Oak floor and large window to front of lounge with 40' Smart tv
Elegant spacious dining  room
Deep armchairs in the snug
Prepare your meals with every modern convenience
A bright and elegant master bedroom with en-suite shower room. Large wide window, view over garden
Second bedroom, overlooking the garden and with lovely views through the trees to the village
Third cosy twin room -  one can be stowed to allow a cot
4th bedroom with built in oak drawers and hanging space
A beautifully terraced cottage garden with picnic table and benches
Replacement comfy sofa after a day's walking
Elegant dining room
Dine in style
Dining room
Elegant, spacious dining room seating 8 around the antique oak table
Take time and retire to the snug to write a few postcards or use your laptop
looking from the snug into the dining room
Third chair for relaxing in the snug - hatch to kitchen
Master bedroom, plenty of hanging and storage space
Master bedroom with ensuite shower room
Entrance to en-suite shower room
En-suite shower room left, and  Main bathroom with shower and  glass side screen over main bath
Modern  tiled main bathroom
Stylish main bathroom with washbasin on slate and large radiator
Elegantly furnished 2nd bedroom with hanging and storage space
New ground floor shower/utility room with Belfast sink, wc shower washbowl and washing machine
Ground floor shower room
Dine al fresco on the upper terrace
Garden with gated parking space
Lower terrace and lawn in private screened garden.  Barbecue
Steps to upper terrace
View of Hawkshead Church from Vicarage Lane on the  walk across the fields to Hawkshead village
Tarn Hows,  a lovely walk from the Old Farmhouse cottage
Walk to Tarn Hows - idyllic January day 2016
Home made scones for sale at Skelwith Fold on the walk to Skelwith Bridge
New layout for ground floor - extra shower room/utility room
New layout for 1st floor - extra 4th bedroom
From behind the cottages looking towards snow covered fells January 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Hawkshead, Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cg97
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The old farmhouse combines the best of the 17th and 21st centuries. It has the original wooden beams in the ceilings but the kitchen and bathrooms are contemporary and the restoration has been tastefully done. The location is excellent if you are looking to be close to town without being in the middle of town, it is in a quiet location but is only a 15 minute walk or 5 minute drive from the center of Hawkshead.

We were lucky enough to stay there during clear weather and were amazed at how bright the stars appeared at night. We found it very convenient to be able to take a short walk into town rather than pay for parking in Hawkshead.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
So good to know guests are enjoying the old and the new at The Old Farmhouse. it is certainly a peaceful haven, with secluded garden.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Much to commend it”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This house is ideally located, a short stroll across the fields from Hawkshead, many people's idea of the best touring location in the Lakes. The old wood in the main living room made it feel you were renting a National Trust attraction and the newer work was superbly done. The beds were adequate, the kitchen small but very well appointed. Three showers! You felt the owners had tried to cover everything a family on holiday could need.
We were slightly surprised at the owners' bravery in putting upholstered dining chairs in family accommodation. Our main gripe was the total absence of comfortable soft furnishings; one comfy chair in the snug and some excruciating French style sofas in the lounge.
But overall we enjoyed our week there despite the, er, typical Cumbrian weather!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2015
So pleased you loved the old and new aspects of the Farmhouse. There are now 2 super comfy chairs in the snug, soon to be a third. A replacement deep cushioned sofa has been purchased for the lounge. Quality of furniture and fittings is our aim and we are sure these additions will add to guests' enjoyment and relaxation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAwannab...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Accomodation”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed at this property with friends for a long weekend. The property is beautiful and positioned in a lovely setting. The house had everything we needed and was clean and homely. There is a lovely private garden, where we sat out in the evenings and enjoyed a few bottles of wine.

The location of the house is great and it was easy to get to both Hawkshead and Ambleside.

The house suited us perfectly and was a lovely base for our weekend. It's just a shame we had to leave!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2015
Wow ! Thank you, so pleased you enjoyed everything we have set out to achieve, very rewarding. Do come again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALC6969
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location and very clean”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed for a week from 18th July with our family and pets. The propery is very clean and maintained to a very high standard with everything you need for a comfortable stay.
Recent extendsion making it a great place for 2 seperate groups of people to stay. One of the best we have stayed in the Lakes for the past 25 years.
Easy walking distance across 3 fields to back of Hawkshead village where there is a good choice of pubs for eating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2015
So pleased you enjoyed the cottage, and thank you for taking the time to review - hope to hear from you again.The 'extension' appears to have been the original barn and hay loft and with original oak beams it fits well with the rest of the cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz N
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful house that blends modern comfort with traditional charm”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed at this house with friends for a long weekend in May 2015, it has been beautifully refurbished with contemporary bathrooms and kitchen, extremely comfortable beds, fresh linens and was a delightful place to stay. The accommodation well equipped and our stay was so well considered that the milkman even knew we were coming and delivered a fresh pint for our morning tea!

The garden is also lovely and we managed to sit outside and enjoy a drink in the evening sunshine (between rain storms!)

It is very well placed for Hawkshead and Ambleside, we will definitely be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2017
Very rewarding that you loved the Old Farmhouse. We hope to hear from you in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing