We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIRD VISIT AND WE'LL BE BACK AGAIN NEXT YEAR......”
Review of Bridge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bridge House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This was our 3rd visit in three years and was as good as ever. We stayed for 5 nights - wanted to stay longer but no room at the inn it appeared as they are so popular. We wanted to go in early March but had to wait until April before they had a room for 5 nights on the trot!
Once again the food was outstanding. It's vital that you eat early in the evening [6.30 p.m. start] so as to leave time to digest the meal before tackling the great breakfast. I'm afraid that with this type of fare there's not much scope to sample the local food as you'd never cope with more than the odd cake and a coffee throughout the day!
The Bridge House is an excellent base for walking - most [but not all] residents are there for the walking and most are return visitors. With just 3 visits under our belt we were mere novices compared with many who stay there.
The hotel isn't really suitable for young children although they would be most welcome I feel. It's really a place for couples and small celebratory parties of all ages and booking is essential.
Cost? About £130 per room per night depending on time of year and length of stay.
Can't wait to return in 2013......

Room Tip: See the hotel's website where you can see photos of each room along with a description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 181 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

Had a weekend away to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were able to select our room using the descriptions on the web site. When making the booking on line I mentioned that it was our anniversary and on our arrival there was a card and a bottle of wine waiting for us in our room. The room matched the descrition on the web site - it was one of the best I have stayed in. Food was beautiful and the pear crumble is highly recommended!!!The staff were all friendy and polite and nothing was too much trouble. This was a great weekend thanks to our stay at Bridge House Hotel. We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: View the room descriptions on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poggy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed at the Bridge House just after New Year It had been quite a few years since our last stay but Jayne had remembered us and made us very welcome. The hotel is very relaxed and comfortable, most of the rooms are large and you can check each room's layout on the website. Excellent breakfast and a quirky system of ordering your meal choice at least 30 mins before dinner. However we don't mind that as all the meals are freshly cooked to your liking and are well presented. Our only gripe is the atmosphere in the dining room is a bit stark, due to the shape of the room the tables are in a straight row and although we both hate loud background music. low soft music would help keep your conversations a little more private and give a little more atmosphere, also paying £19 for a bottle of wine I would expect the first glass to be poured!!
However, if you want comfy rooms, good food, log fire and important in Grasmere very good parking, you will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Check out the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank durhamsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We spend a lot of time in the Lake District and every year we meet up with friends in January/February, for a couple of nights. This year we decided to stay in Grasmere and we chose the Bridge House Hotel. We were not disappointed.

The hotel has a great situation, right in the centre of Grasmere, with the river running alongside. It is ideal for walking and visiting the local area, being very central. The room we got was a very large twin room, overlooking the garden and the fells. It was spacious with one double bed and a single. It was spotless, looking as though it had been newly decorated. The fabrics and fittings were excellent and there was a large flat screen tv. There was a substantial tea and coffee tray provided. The bathroom was spacious and well appointed and we had a plentiful supply of good towels.

The lounges were well furnished. There is plenty of room to sit before or after dinner with a drink. There is a small bar. The dining room is light and airy. The service we received was always friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The food here was very good. It is plentiful and always hot. There is a varied choice and the homemade soups were particularly good. The breakfast is also really good.

In summary, this was a great place to stay in Grasmere and it was also great value. We all enjoyed the stay and we will undoubtedly return.

Room Tip: You can see each room on their website and choose which one you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nufcnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed as a group celebrating a family birthday in early February when Grasmere was under a blanket of snow.

The Bridge House Hotel provided a warm and friendly welcome, and this was most evident in the way they accommodated our every need - including looking after champagne that we brought as a surprise for the birthday girl! I can think of many hotels who would at least have charged corkage. The staff were friendly and supremely helpful - as good as I've seen in any hotel - and created an environment that made you feel at home. The location was excellent, right in the middle of the village but back from the main road, and the home cooking was very good - including the excellent breakfasts that inevitably removed any need for lunch.

I haven't awarded 5 stars as this hotel has the potential to be even better without losing its character or intimacy. My priority would be to make the bar/lounge area more of a focal point and somewhere more conducive to linger in the evenings as it was virtually empty by 10pm on both Friday and Saturday. It may require some reconfiguration, but it should be big enough for example to have a television tucked away in one corner without disturbing anyone (the Six Nations Rugby was on that weekend) and softer lighting wouldn't go amiss either (for some reason there's an obsession with bright lighting in both the bar and restaurant). At the end of a day outdoors it might encourage guests to save bothering going to any inferior bars/pubs in the village and spend their money at the hotel. I know I would have done!

That said the Bridge House obviously have a successful formula that's their right to leave unchanged. I would definitely return and want to thank the hotel for making us not just very comfortable but treating us like valued guests - a rare commodity in this day and age.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PostieOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.3 km away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,550 reviews
0.2 km away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,249 reviews
0.6 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
108 reviews
0.4 km away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
731 reviews
1.0 km away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Address: Stock Lane, Grasmere LA22 9SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: ₹ 5,992 - ₹ 62,398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of your world and into ours. Bridge House Hotel Grasmere - right in the heart of England’s Lake District National Park. Perfect for a walking holiday - park the car and take a new route every day. Fairfield Horseshoe, Helvellyn, Langdale Pikes plus many easier low-level routes available. Right on our doorstep is some of the finest scenery in the world... Come and share it with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Grasmere
Bridge House Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing