We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oak Bank Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 343
US$ 313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
US$ 174
US$ 154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grasmere Hotel(Grasmere)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa(Grasmere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveller rating
616
105
26
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
616
105
26
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall decanter of sherryamuse bouchefantastic foodfresh milkhomemade shortbreaddining experiencesmall hotellittle touchesfine dininglake districtowners and staffevening mealwine listfriendly hotelstandard roomdining roomlog fire
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
552 - 557 of 753 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We wanted a nice hotel in the Lakes to celebrate my 40th birthday (without kids). After looking at all the places in the Lakes that we had stayed at previously, we decided to have a search on tripadvisor. The oak bank stood out immediately.
Great reviews,super food, good deals and ideal position.
We were not dissapointed, evening meals to die for, breakfasts to dream about, lovely rooms and service with extra little details added-like the taster of sherry in the room.
We actually prayed that we would be snowed in at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomster_monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Although the room and bathroom were quite small and basic, this small hotel is indeed a gem. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. The dinner was outstanding! The staff and owners obviously care about providing their guests with a good experience. Grasmere is a charming village.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollyshumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This small private hotel near the centre of Gramere is the perfect location for a walking holiday. My wife and I have just returned for an excellent 2 night break at the Oak Bank and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The atmosphere in the hotel is very relaxed and friendly, our bedroom was quite spacious with a good en-suite and as other reiviewers have highlighted the food is excellent. The hotel also benefits from adequate off road parking so it is possible to leave a car there all day and just go off walking in the hills following one of the many paths directly from the village. Just one minor critisism, we would have liked to see an option of fresh fruit salad for breakfast as an alternative to the tinned grapefruit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Have stayed here several time. Always been happy with accomodation. The food is always excellent. Would always recommend this hotel to visitors to the lakes

Thank pamhogg45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We loved this little hotel in the centre of Grasmere. We didn't move our car from the front of the hotel during our two night stay in February 2012, until we had to dig it out of about 6 inches of snow to go home! We had a standard room which was nicely decorated and the snifter of sherry in the room a lovely touch. We also slept really well - there was a large group staying the nights we were there but they didn't disturb us at all.

The highlight of our stay, however, was the fantastic food. We opted to eat in the hotel both nights as part of a deal we found on their website, and we're really glad we did. The four course menu was original, tasty and of outstanding quality. My husband declared the chocolate fondant 'the best he'd ever had' and every dish was beautifully presented. The service was also excellent, and we enjoyed relaxing in the bar before and after our meals.

I rarely go back to places, but I would definitely go back to Oak Bank. It was absolutely amazing value and the food so memorable, just writing this makes me want to head straight to their website and book another weekend away!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews