We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It Just Gets Better!”
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
WIRRAL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It Just Gets Better!”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We have just returned from our fifth stay at this hotel. Each visit we wonder if it can better our last visit but once again Simon and Glynis have done it again! Room 15 was the best room so far and the food and service superb.

The food quality and service here is better than we have had anywhere. We have booked another visit for next year but am sure we will return later this summer as we know we cant beat it for value and enjoyment. The attention to detail is wonderful and the Easter Eggs a much appreciated gift!

Thanks once again to all the team for making our trip so enjoyable you really do have a winning formula here and we look forward to our next visit .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAHWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    100
    23
    1
    5
See reviews for
56
498
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We wanted a nice hotel in the Lakes to celebrate my 40th birthday (without kids). After looking at all the places in the Lakes that we had stayed at previously, we decided to have a search on tripadvisor. The oak bank stood out immediately.
Great reviews,super food, good deals and ideal position.
We were not dissapointed, evening meals to die for, breakfasts to dream about, lovely rooms and service with extra little details added-like the taster of sherry in the room.
We actually prayed that we would be snowed in at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomster_monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Although the room and bathroom were quite small and basic, this small hotel is indeed a gem. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. The dinner was outstanding! The staff and owners obviously care about providing their guests with a good experience. Grasmere is a charming village.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollyshumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This small private hotel near the centre of Gramere is the perfect location for a walking holiday. My wife and I have just returned for an excellent 2 night break at the Oak Bank and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The atmosphere in the hotel is very relaxed and friendly, our bedroom was quite spacious with a good en-suite and as other reiviewers have highlighted the food is excellent. The hotel also benefits from adequate off road parking so it is possible to leave a car there all day and just go off walking in the hills following one of the many paths directly from the village. Just one minor critisism, we would have liked to see an option of fresh fruit salad for breakfast as an alternative to the tinned grapefruit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Have stayed here several time. Always been happy with accomodation. The food is always excellent. Would always recommend this hotel to visitors to the lakes

Helpful?
Thank pamhogg45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
11.7 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.6 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
0.2 km away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
28.5 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Property: Oak Bank Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,695 - ₹ 15,817
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette awarded beautiful dining room and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing