We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch on a wet day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

we where visiting coniston whilst on holiday in our caravan in troutbreck every where u go in the lake district you have to pay for parking and we wanted to wander down to the lake so after lunch we asked the bar staff if we could leave our car in the car paRK WHILST WE WANDERED DOWN TO THE LAKE THIS WAS NO PROBLEM THEY SAID

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sueflintshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 406 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed here March 2011. Really nice atmosphere with great locally made beer.
The room we had was large with a couple of chairs in the window to sit and look out from the front of the building. Had a meal in the pub which was also great.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beermatt73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Excellent food, great beer and very friendly staff. Good veggie options and a lovely atmosphere. Love it !!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorrinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Visited here 3/11/11, lovely country / village pub, realy friendly staff, the food was very good, there were only a couple of vegetarian options, but they were amazing when they arrived. Brilliant friendly atmosphere, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HughDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Why this place has had such raving reviews is beyond me. It was dark and not at all clean. The 1 guy serving behind the bar couldn't cope with everyone that wanted to order food and drinks as well as having to pour pints. Probably not helped by the amount of flys were with him on that side of the bar. It wasn't at all nice thinking as to what they were being attracted to? The waiting staff were helpful and pleasant enough, even though the food was lacking in choice and what was offered was over priced for what is only pub grub. When will the catereers of this country realise that deep fried mushrooms in the chip fryer are disgusting! They are not a nice thing to have sat alongside a meal as a garnish. They are simply a contaminant. Anyway, enough of my personal mushroom gripe... Presented with the bill at nearly £100 for 4 bar meals and 6 drinks, we decided to have coffee and deserts at home.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank The-Styles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.0 km away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#1 of 6 in Coniston
296 reviews
0.8 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#2 of 6 in Coniston
685 reviews
9.3 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,731 reviews
11.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
26.5 km away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bull Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull Inn and Hotel

Address: Coppermines Road | Yewdale Road, Coniston LA21 8HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range: ₹ 10,149 - ₹ 11,095 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bull Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Black Bull Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bull Hotel Coniston
Black Bull Coniston
Black Bull Inn And Hotel Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing