We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“All we hoped for - and more”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blea Brows

Entering the courtyard!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entering the courtyard!
Cosy woodburner! New comfy two seater sofa and 'firm' supportive armchair - for ease of dismount!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
58 reviews
Entering the courtyard!
Cosy woodburner!
New comfy two seater sofa and 'firm' supportive armchair - for ease of dismount!
New comfy two seater sofa!
(as promised!)
New comfy three seater sofa.  (As also promised!)
Hallway
Double bedroom
Twin or double bedroom
Further twin or double
Kitchen
Kitchen table
View across the courtyard
View from the landing
The new patio and garden furniture!
Down by the lake
Lake shore beach
The lake shore in winter.  Not much beach but plenty of snow!
View down the lake - Fairfield
Wildcat Island!
Blawith Common beach to walk to!
...and the same view in the snow!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marion R
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All we hoped for - and more”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The previous positive comments and warm response to reviews from the owners persuaded us that the cottage would be a great place to meet up with family about half way between Scotland and English midlands.

We had a wonderful stay, finding the cottage really well equipped, cosy and comfortable with very effective central heating and plenty of hot water. Highlights of our stay included going to the private beach just a few minutes walk away, (one of us even went for a brief early morning swim in the lake), watching all the birds on the bird feeder including nuthatches, sleeping really soundly in very comfortable beds after long days out walking/climbing in the hills, and great food from the deli and pub in Torver, a couple of miles up the road.

This will be our first choice for any future stay in this beautiful part of the Lake District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just everything abour the cottage, location and area.
Liked least: Having to leave all too soon.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
Thanks Marion for your extremely kind commments. It's always lovely when people enjoy it as much as we do when we stay. I think we sometimes take the 'beauty' of the surroundings for granted, but you are right, it is delightful. We too have enjoyed a 'cheeky' dip in the lake...well, more like our children these days! You are most welcome to return anytime.
Regards, Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie T
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Cottage comfortable in a beautiful tranquil setting. There was five of us and we enjoyed our short break. The only thing i would complain about was the lack of towels...there was two and unfortunately they had an unusual aroma. We have stayed in many rental cottages and they have always supplied an adequate amount..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
Thanks Natalie for the review. Glad you enjoyed your short break. Yes, you're right, towels aren't something that we have traditionally supplied. Some people prefer to bring their own, some would like them included. I guess we may have to change our decision on that one. We may choose to provide towels in the future. It would add another cost to the hire charge, and we've tried to keep the price competetive but we'll certainly consider it. Thanks for your comments, though. Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“My son wants to live here!”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a lovely little cottage that has everything needed for a comfortable stay. It's all well organised and equipped. It's also very well placed for coniston and other sites around the southern Lake District whilst remaining quiet and secluded from the main crowded touristy areas!

The cottage is excellent for children with the access to the woods and lake, ours had a fabulous week exploring!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: It was a little small for 6 upstairs.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
What great taste your son has! Thank you so much for your lovely review. Yes it is a great place for children, particularly as it is so secluded. We're both delighted that you had such a good time. I know that our kids still love it and they're in their twenties! Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_S_and...
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“A magical week”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a simply wonderful time staying at beautiful Blea Brows cottage. It was comfortable and cosy, with everything we needed to give us a great base from which to explore the surrounding countryside. The private access to the lake was a real bonus, as we were able to relax in stunning surroundings without going too far afield when our legs were protesting about all the long, picturesque walks we took around the local area!
I would recommend this as a great holiday cottage and would like to thank you for a fantastic week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many things to mention, but being able to let ourselves in when we arrived made us feel at home straight away.
Liked least: Nope, can't answer this one; everything was brilliant!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for that lovely review. It's always a pleasure when other people enjoy it as much as we do. We're delighted that you had such a good time. Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarjorieH...
High Peak
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great to be back”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

It was lovely to be back at Blea Brows after a gap of over ten years. The cottage is now much improved with very comfortable beds. Although initially booked for just the two of us, different members of the family joined us at different times, all eager to sample Blea Brows again. We hope to visit again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
So lovely to have you back again to stay! Glad you enjoyed the improvements. Regards, Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing