We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lakes hotel”
Review of The Sun Coniston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sun Coniston
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I had called in the bar a few times when hiking 8 real ales on offer. I decided to take my wife for a few days.Great deal 3 nights for the price of 2. Comfortable rooms not the normal sterile hotel rooms . We were in room 9 high up overlooking Coniston village. The Hotel has a large conservatory where breakfast and evening meals are served. Evening meals are excellent ,good choice of food , friendly staff Really enjoyed the break

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B4379XBmichaelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 233 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

We discovered the Sun some years ago while walking about in Coniston. At the time, the hotel was undergoing some building works so we were unable to eat there. On subsequent trips we visited the Sun and saw the improvements coming along. The bar area was refurbed and an upstairs eating area beautifully restored. We had a lovely pub lunch out on the terrace and decided to book a room for our next visit. I can honestly say that the Sun is one of the best places we have stayed. They have a wide variety of ales and wines served by a very friendly and helpful barman; the chef at the time of our stay specialised in a gorgeous slow-cooked lamb curry; our room had a large airy bathroom and some of the best views in the area. What more could a traveller want?

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovepalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Could be near perfect.
Great food but lack of some basics like burgers, steaks etc and a bit expensive.
However the room were in, no5 left a lot to be desired. Very small, dreadful and outdated decor. Shower/toilet felt dirty but probably was because of all the black on the shower seals. No real wardrobe which was a problem when we stayed 4 nights.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidsLDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Just returned from a 3 night trip to The Sun (3 for 2 offer).
We enjoyed our stay, but as with other reviewers there were some niggles that would be easy to address. The litter outside was not cleared at all while we were there, surely this is only a 2 minute job each day. Our room overlooked the garden and it spoiled the outlook for us. We did not eat at the hotel except for breakfast, which was nice apart from a few problems, day 1 was fine, day 2 there was no black pudding for the full english, and no kippers. Also no fried bread was on the plate and we had to ask for it. Day 3, we sat at a table set for 4 and we were asked to move even tho at no time were the tables in full use....it is just as easy to reset two place setting wherever they are, it made us feel a bit narked. Additionally we requested NO black pudding with our full english, and low and behold what did we get, black pudding, with the egg on top. I can not stand black pudding so did not want the egg either. How difficult is it to get a breakfast order correct?? Full english with no black pudding. And once again there was no fried bread, had to ask yet again, even tho it should be served with the full english as stated on the menu.
As for the bedroom, whilst they were clean, to be honest they need redecorating, there was peeling paper, peeling paint. In the bathroom there was no blind or curtain even tho our room overlooked the garden.....we had to pull the shower curtain across for a bit of privacy whilst taking a bath.
The bar was nice, but they had run out of peanuts!
The lounge area was very nice.
The hotel cat was lovely and very welcoming!
Overall we enjoyed our stay, but do not feel that the hotel should be graded 4*

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulietEchoFoxtrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

An old fashioned inn, with a wonderful homely atmosphere, particularly in the winter with its welcoming log fire. An excellent chef produces a surprisingly exciting menu.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Daiviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.2 km away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#1 of 6 in Coniston
296 reviews
0.2 km away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
1 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#2 of 6 in Coniston
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0 km away
Monk Coniston
Monk Coniston
#4 of 6 in Coniston
56 reviews
8.6 km away
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ambleside
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Coniston? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Coniston

Address: Coniston LA21 8HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range: ₹ 2,153 - ₹ 6,888 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Coniston
The Sun Coniston Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing