We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YHA Coniston, Holly How”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Coniston Holly How
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Lovely home-cooked food, and plenty of it. Breakfast was generous, hot coffee on tap. For dinner, I had homemade quiche, vegetable tagine and a delectable chocolate brownie. Spotlessly clean, this hostel is well cared for.

Room Tip: If you are a single, make sure to ask for one of the smaller dormitories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAConiston, Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 116 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

Excellent food. Staff friendly and helpful with good local knowledge. Hostel was spotless

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
Thank nickh147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAConiston, Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

Thanks for your review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay - the weather has been great this half term and that has helped loads! I think our brand new bunk beds are going down well - all helping to make your stay great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Took advantage of YHA family deal, which was £30 for a night in up to a six bed room - we needed a 4 bed room. This included an evening meal in the price. A good choice was offered and it was one choice for all the family. So we had Pizza and potato wedges first night; chicken and potato wedges, the second, and cumberland sausage and mash on the third. All were served with salad or vegetables, the portions were very good, and the food was superb, to such an extent that we felt we couldn't complement the chef highly enough. What a bargain and at £30 we were surprised we were the only family taking advantage of this fantastic offer . The staff were also very friendly and helpfull, even when they were working at full gas and the hostel was clean and the amenities first rate.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAConiston, Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us as part of the YHA Family Feast Offer. It has been a very popular package and great to see lots of families during the hoildays. Look out for more great family room deals coming soon on our website - see you this summer when you can swap snowballs for beachballs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

i went this hostel with school in 1998,by far the best week from school on a trip to coniston for 5 days. the hostel is big and rooms are very nice tidy and neat. has got its own games rooms. i will never forget the experience in coniston and holly how and all the activities we did were just A1.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfcali123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAConiston, Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

We're delighted that you have great memories - why not come back and see how it's changed since schooldays - we have a bar now and it is even cosier!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Just got back from a wonderful couple of days at Holly How Youth Hostel with my husband and three kids. The hostel is nice and spacious with a lovely lounge - ideal for sitting round the fire in the evening - and also plenty of board games to borrow. The TV is in a separate lounge which is nice - you can choose to watch or not.

We ate our evening meal in the hostel and it was delicious with more than ample portions and lots of choice!! Self catering facilities were also good. Hostel staff were friendly and helpful.

The family room was nice and clean - lovely and quiet overnight. Once we'd arrived didn't need to use the car again until we left as there is plenty to do locally. We visited the Coniston museum (well worth a visit especially if you are interested in Donald Campbell) and had a fantastic winter walk in Yewdale as well as walking in the village, beside the lake etc. There are also a couple of good village shops nearby. Highly recommended, we can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAConiston, Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Thanks for your review - we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. This time of year is ideal for a get-away and especially mid week. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
1.2 km away
YHA Coniston Coppermines
YHA Coniston Coppermines
#3 of 10 in Coniston
78 reviews
5.4 km away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
167 reviews
8.9 km away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
8.0 km away
YHA Langdale
YHA Langdale
#1 of 1 in Loughrigg
124 reviews
10.7 km away
YHA Windermere
YHA Windermere
#5 of 10 in Windermere
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Coniston Holly How? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Coniston Holly How

Address: Far End, Coniston LA21 8DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Coniston
Price Range: ₹ 1,172 - ₹ 11,006 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Coniston Holly How 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 150 year-old Lakeland slate country house, part of the YHA Youth Hostel network. The Coniston mountain range is on the doorstep and Coniston Water is just minutes away on foot. A the end of the day, relax with a local beer in our comfortable lounge before a hearty meal in the bar / restaurant. Donald Campbell's restored powerboat Bluebird is coming home to Coniston in 2012 and the valley is also being used for the filming of Swallows and Amazons children's book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your YHA Coniston Holly How reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Coniston Holly How Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing