We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very special place to relax”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Skiddaw

Southwaite Green in its setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Southwaite Green in its setting
Summer at Southwaite Green Skiddaw with its upper level terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Southwaite Green in its setting
Summer at Southwaite Green
Skiddaw with its upper level terrace
Skiddaw
Kitchen and snug areas
Skiddaw  interior
Sit in the captain's chair and admire the view
King size bedroom
Twin or king size bedroom
Bedroom detail
Marble and heated mirror in a shower room
Footbridge over the beck
Picnic place up by the pond
Wild flowers in the woodland
Southwaite Green from the road
Solar panels for hot water
Buttermere over the lavender bed
View from Skiddaw's terrace
Barbecue area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sheila c...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very special place to relax”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a wonderful week self-catering at Southwaite Green at the beginning of April. On arrival Marna gave us a most friendly welcome. The accommodation was very comfortable and well equipped. We quickly got used to its efficient eco underfloor heating! The upside down living is an excellent idea to take full advantage of the great views of farmland and fells in all directions. Being able to walk in the young woodland before breakfast and hear the bird song was indeed a bonus. Southwaite Green is well situated for a great variety of leisure activities - fell walking, easy rambling along the river paths, walking along the Cumbria coast, visiting the coastal towns e.g. St Bees, Whitehaven or Maryport, and nearby Cockermouth and Keswick. We didn't want to leave and we definitely plan to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Fai...
1 review
“Well worth a trip to the lakes”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Overall a lovely place to stay. The grounds are beautiful with routes up a little hill and a nice pond and summer house at the end. Our young kids loved it and even made maps.

The cottage is brilliant and very warm! With a nice little courtyard the boys played happily and we're very safe.

Would definitely go back again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An idyllic location, perfect for travel to north/west lakes”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Accommodation is of a high standard with all home comforts. Grounds are perfect for an easy stroll with our dog and there is a quiet spot for an evening drink! Eco-friendly and quiet - this was ideal for a break in the lakes. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarriPud
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great escape that exceeded expectations!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We'd read the reviews so suspected we were in for a treat but Southwaite Green exceeded our expectations.
As previous reviewers have said, Skiddaw is spotlessly clean and in immaculate condition, having been cleverly and thoughtfully designed. We have stayed in many holiday cottages since we had our children (and dogs!) and this one ranks amongst the very best.
The attention to detail and quality of fittings and furniture is excellent.
On arrival there was a box of organic vegetables from a local farm, and chocolate for each of our three children, as well as a local paper - a lovely thoughtful touch. Marna even provides binoculars to view the surrounding nature. The beds were very comfortable too - which coupled with the fresh air and busy days ensured a restful night's sleep.
The views from the cottage are ever changing and quite mesmerising.
Our children and dogs loved swimming in the pond, which has a little summer house and steps into the water - only for the brave hearted - it's very cold!!
It's a great place to stay to enjoy the lakes generally. We did Ghyll Scrambling (www.ghyllscrambling.co.uk) which was an experience never to forget and with a company that inspired confidence and allowed the adrenalin to pump freely!!!
We loved Southwaite Green. It has inspired us to endeavour to live our lives a little greener, and we thought we were reasonably green already.
Southwaite Green is a feel-good place to stay - it made us feel alive and well!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location - and THE VIEWS!!!!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W
Godalming
1 review
“A brilliant venue for both adults and children”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had a relaxing and comfortable stay in this very clean and well appointed eco-friendly house set in beautiful grounds. It is an excellent location for exploring one of the most beautiful parts of the Lake District. It was an ideal place to be with our daughter and her family who were staying across the yard in Beckside. We found Marna extremely helpful and welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole eco-friendly set up and landscaping.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing