We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“absolutely wonderful place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Skiddaw

Southwaite Green in its setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Southwaite Green in its setting
Summer at Southwaite Green Skiddaw with its upper level terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Southwaite Green in its setting
Summer at Southwaite Green
Skiddaw with its upper level terrace
Skiddaw
Kitchen and snug areas
Skiddaw  interior
Sit in the captain's chair and admire the view
King size bedroom
Twin or king size bedroom
Bedroom detail
Marble and heated mirror in a shower room
Footbridge over the beck
Picnic place up by the pond
Wild flowers in the woodland
Southwaite Green from the road
Solar panels for hot water
Buttermere over the lavender bed
View from Skiddaw's terrace
Barbecue area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
duffy2010
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“absolutely wonderful place”
Reviewed 19 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Our second visit in two months, stayed in two separate cottages skiddaw & Beckside, both lovely & clean, very spacious, kitchen wonderful, every utensil going, beds very comfortable. love helping towards eco enviroment.
Lovely views & walks, nice little stroll up to the pond area which you can swim in, loads of trees planted within the grounds.
Marna the proprietor is vey helpful & nice, always get a welcome gift, such as beer, chocolate & plum bread (or fresh vegetables).
Laundry room if needed.
Beautiful stream running across entrance to cottages.
Lovely delightful place to stay, very tranquil.
Town centre Cockermouth about 45 minutes in winter across fields which we thoroughly enjoyed, even though it was a litttle muddy, but we went with suitable clothes & footwear.
We used Southwaite Green as a base to drive into Keswick to do more physical walks in the fells etc (which is a nine mile drive roughly twenty minutes).
We have visited & stayed in the lakes over a twenty year period, in different hotels, guest houses & cottages, & we find Southwaite Green TOPS THE LOT, would highly recommend to anyone, you will thouroughly enjoy your stay at Southwaite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean spacious, lovely views, very tranquil
Liked least: not in a bad way but would have liked wifi connection
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caholden
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect.”
Reviewed 14 June 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We loved it here. In fact we loved it so much that we came home and signed up with TripAdvisor for the first time, simply so we could write a review :-) We went with our 18-month-old son, who is very energetic and totally fearless, so we were a little concerned that it might not be toddler-friendly enough. It wasn't a problem at all, as most 'grabby' things were out of reach. You might want to take a stair gate, as it's an upside-down house, with the lounge and kitchen upstairs and the bedrooms downstairs, and the stairs are an open-plan part of the lounge. The extensive grounds are lovely - picnic areas, BBQ areas, a stream with various bridges, and a big pond. The accommodation is IMMACULATE and finished to a very high standard. We live by sound eco-principles anyway, so we were pleased to find holiday accommodation that is so super-green - in fact, I left realising that my little family could still do so much more to improve our carbon footprint. But I should add that although it IS super-green, it isn't preached at all - so I defy even the most eco-uninterested person to stay here and not come away thinking that a few of the systems in place at Southwaite Green are worthwhile and actually so easy to implement. We are already planning to return here. Oh, the local area ... I almost forgot to describe this bit ... it is the Lakes, but not as we know it. We are Ambleside/Grasmere connoisseurs, and we were so pleasantly surprised to discover this new (to us) part of the Lakes - Cockermouth is a funky little town, with a useful Sainsbury and Coop, a great wholefood shop, and the lovely NT Wordsworth house; and the surrounding countryside is so QUIET and people-free compared with Ambleside/Grasmere. Definitely recommended from all points of view. Go. You will not be disappointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
green678
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic get away for city dwellers”
Reviewed 17 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011

This was our second visit to southwaite green and once again was fantastic! As a group of 3 families with children from 5yrs to 13yrs there was something for everyone! The location meant that we could travel to walks that were appropriate for all our abilities with the outside areas around the barns allowing our children to run free! The accommodation is fab in all the barns and the pictures on the website are a true reflection of the quality and cleanliness. We will be returning next year!

Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bleakhous...
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little gem in wonderful countryside location with superb views”
Reviewed 10 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011

We have just returned from Southwaite Green having spent 5 days staying in the cottage called "Skiddaw", 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, open plan living room (upside down) you sleep downstairs and open plan living/kitchen/dining is on the first floor to take in the wonderful views. There is an outside deck area with table/chairs and overlooking fields and mountains in the distance - absolutely superb quiet location near to the north lakes of Buttermere/Crummock Water where there are ample walks. Eco friendly environment (see their own website) which works well and yes, it really is 5* accommodation. You are just 2 miles from Cockermouth but feels like you are in the middle of nowhere. If you want a quiet relaxing time in comfort then Southwaite Green is for you, really I could not fault it. The kitchen is well stocked which means you can cook anything and there is a small dishwasher so no washing up (always a bonus)! There is also a washing machine on site with a washing line attached to the wall outside your own cottage for drying it really is "home from home" but with spectacular views. We are reasonably well travelled and Southwaite Green offers top notch facilities and beautiful surroundings - I can wholeheartedly recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 14 April 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing