We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trout Hotel - Leisure Stay”
Review of The Trout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Trout Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
LAKE DISTRICT,UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Trout Hotel - Leisure Stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Hospitality was brill. All staff were very professional and very welcoming.
Rooms were nice, good value for money.
Breakfast was included and was lush, all local produce.

Good location, our room overlooked the river which was a nice touch. Very close to the shops and nightlife (next door to the landmark Wordsworth House).

We also ate in the terrace bistro which was really good.
Free parking.

Could not fault.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRACKIEMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    138
    42
    19
    11
See reviews for
131
307
5
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We like this Hotel and have stayed many times. To err is human and even a slight blip in our booking this time was handled courteously, without fuss and with great empathy. Well done the Trout staff for you exceeded our expectations once again and proved that a recent Regional Customer Service Award is much deserved. If you like good unpretentious service then the Trout is for you. It will never be like home but they do try very hard to get close.

Room Tip: Suite Rooms on the ground floor are great if you are taking a dog as there is plenty of space and ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lymers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

I booked this trip as a Christmas present for my husband for a get away from it all weekend, we stayed over the hottest weekend in march which was a bonus.
I had booked a package of: 2 nights b&b with full breakfast, dinner and scones & champagne on arrival.
The reception staff and ALL staff were verreviewsming and friendly and just for this I would return. We were upgraded from an executive double bedroom to a Junior suite - lovely and a real treat.
the hotel was full and we had to have dinner on the Saturday night which was no problem for us at all, where you normally are restricted on choice of an inclusive dinner menu, this was not the case and we were able to chose ANYTHING from the menu. lovely food, great staff and overall fab!
we found the brewery tour and toughly enjoyed it, thanks to the great tour guide.
I don't like to recommend hotels but for a great relaxing, clean hotel with lovely staff,I would highly recommended the Trout.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District,Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We went to The Trout on Good Friday for dinner,the place was packed..!
We should have booked.
James,the manager said why don't we have a drink in the bar and wait for a table,what a good decision that was.A table became free and we had a lovely meal.
This is by far the best hotel & restaurant in Cockermouth maybe even West Cumbria.
We would definately recommend coming here if your spending some time in the area,either to stay or just dine.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scouserjat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Used this hotel as a base for the Lake District over Easter weekend when all my usual alternatives were fully booked. Hotel is lovely and the rooms spacious. Hotel food is exquisite, although a tad pricy unless you book on a meal inclusive rate.

Only thing stopping it getting a 5 star for this trip, is its location. Cockermouth isnt the prettiest of towns and is well out of the way for the majority of the Lakes prime spots. If you were seeking a hotel specifically in this area, then its 5 star.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank costyy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
5.7 km away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
462 reviews
0.6 km away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
291 reviews
18.8 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
161 reviews
1.4 km away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#7 of 9 in Cockermouth
194 reviews
1.0 km away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Hotel

Property: The Trout Hotel
Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,789 - ₹ 22,924
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Trout Hotel you will receive a warm, friendly welcome. We are an independent hotel, run by a close-knit team of caring, enthusiastic people who go out of their way to make you feel at home, comfortable and relaxed.Our idyllic, picture postcard setting on the bank of The River Derwent in Cockermouth and the calm, relaxing atmosphere, will help you instantly feel at ease. The luxurious, soft furnishings will help you unwind. Our thoughtful, attentive team will see to your every need. We understand that doing the little things well is what makes your stay with us so special. It’s also the reason why we welcome back so many of our friends year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trout Hotel Cockermouth
The Trout Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing