We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Allerdale Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I have stopped at this hotel a number of times on my own when on business and everytime they have been friendly and welcoming. They have a good choice of decent sized rooms (my favourite being the king sized bed one!) and they are clean. The only real downside to the hotel is the lack of free parking but the car park accross the street is well priced and very close to the hotel. The food and breakfast in the hotel is lovely but also a short walk away is the centre of Cockermouth with some lovely pubs and even closer is the Bitter End which is micro brewery which is well worth a visit. I can reccomend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    85
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
33
129
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We enjoyed a short break at the Allerdale Court Hotel and were spoiled by the exceptional room and delicious breakfast. The owner Kay and all her team are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We would recommend this hotel as a base to explore the north lakes.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are traditional and some more modern, one contains a very special fireplace, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoltonTaylors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Another stop on my road trip and what a find! I was riding past this hotel and thought it looked nice enough to stay so popped in. I was met by a very warm and welcoming reception who went out of their way to help me, showing me the rooms, sorting out a good price as I was on my own and making room for my motorbike down the side, gated alley.

The rooms were superb, I stayed in two very different ones but both were breathtaking. The first, a double kingsized suite in the old bakery section was stunning. It was very grand and huge, I couldn't decide which bed to sleep on! You could see the old brickwork from where the old oven used to be.

The second night I moved into a newly decorated kind size executive room which was modern, clean and superb! This was previously damaged in the floods a few years ago, but you couldn't tell, it was gorgeous.

Breakfast was locally sourced and divine, but the thing that made my stay was the staff, they were completely amazing and friendly.

The only downside is the parking, I had a bike so was ok, but for cars you would have to park in the public carpark across the road, which I am sure would be fine.

Well worth the visit, ideally located and a real gem!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed a Saturday night having walked/scrambled up Blencathra & Sharp Edge. Ideal location for walking. After 6pm you can park outside the hotel and Sunday is free, otherwise you will have find somewhere elsewhere to park...checking in was smooth with friendly polite staff who showed us to our rooom. We were in 225, which is in the front, it was a twin, however they had pushed the beds together but made the bed with king size bedding and neither fell in a gap that can occur !!! Spacious, spacious, spacious.....had everything from hair dryer to iron & board. Water & mints gratis & bathroom toiletries. Mattress comfortable, plenty of storage, spotlessly clean, everything worked !! plenty of sockets. Double sinks, corner bath and good shower pressure, no dripping taps !! Plenty of towels. Along with kettle tea & coffee only 2 milks, so only one drink each, had i realised would of asked for some more. If you are a light sleeper you could be woken by outside noise as only single pane glass !!! I would recommend & would stop again.

Room Tip: 225 (higher floor) no lift,is an Executive twin suite, overlooking the front, outside traffic/revell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derbyshirehunny61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here recently, we were made welcome from the start, rooms fantastic, breakfast fantastic, staff interested in making sure we enjoyed our stay and very helpfull at all times, we will be booking this one again ..

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
0.6 km away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.5 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
5.1 km away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
9.4 km away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
38.8 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Allerdale Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Allerdale Court Hotel

Property: The Allerdale Court Hotel
Address: 18-20 Market Place, Cockermouth CA13 9NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,722 - ₹ 9,046
Hotel Class:3 star — The Allerdale Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your The Allerdale Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Allerdale Court Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing