We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Friendly Comfortable Weekend In Cockermouth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Allerdale Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Allerdale Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Friendly Comfortable Weekend In Cockermouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

I recently stayed with 5 of my friends at the Allerdale Court Hotel in Cockermouth. The hotel is located right in the centre of the quiet Market town of Cockermouth. The staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The full Cumbrian breakfast fantastic, poached eggs perfect. The rooms whilst small are clean and very comfortable

A great place for a break, Cockermouth is a little gem of a town and well worth a long week visit with access to the Northern Lakes and Cumbrian coast

Thanks and kind regards Peter Mingins

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    84
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
127
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

My husband and I chose once again to stay at this hotel which had continued with it update and was looking really good. We had booked last minute and did not hold too much hope for rooms but we had a large room which was more like a junior suite with lots of space and two easy chairs and large TV. The hotel was quiet as we were at the back of the hotel. The room was spotlessly clean and really comfortable with lovely Egyptian cotton bedding and lots of pillows and cushions. We went to visit the festival which was great and it was really handy to be in the town so that we could pop back and forth. The hotel had lots of tables outside for the festivities and we partook of excellent lamb burgers on mint and coriander naans washed down with top notch mojitas. Breakfast on Sunday was second to none and we took our time and enjoyed extra coffee and toast and nothing was too much trouble for the helpful staff. I have returned to this hotel not to be disappointed and I hope to return again to support this busy market town that should be very proud of its recovery following the floods. Keep it up Cockermouth.

Room Tip: we were in room 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie_hixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Having recently stayed at the Allerdale Court Hotel with my husband for the Taste of Cumbria Festival, we have found a Cumbrian Treasure. This Hotel is situated perfectly to explore this quaint town with unique boutiques. The Hairy Biker window display was fabulous and drew many admirers including the Hairy Bikers themselves, much to our delight!
We received a very warm welcome and throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble for the members of Allerdale Court staff.
Our room was spacious, stylishly decorated and spotless.
I can definately recommend the famous Cumbrian breakfast, a feast no less. Oh and the cocktails later in the day were very welcome...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We were very surprised to be accommodated at such short notice given the Festival.
We have stayed at this hotel before hence the relief to have got in. We were at the back of the hotel which to be honest was a little quieter and cooler at night.
We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant as friends we were meeting had made other arrangements for us, this was a bit of a let down as previously we have thoroughly enjoyed the evening menu!
The breakfast next morning certainly did not disappoint.
Throughout our 2 day stay the hotel staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. Our friends have an autistic daughter and her special needs were very well catered for by all.
We plan to visit again (and recommend) very soon.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hicksfromthesticks18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Allerdale Court Hotel for the recent Taste Cumbria festival. An excellent hotel, fabulous food and great atmosphere. The breakfast was excellent as was the dinner we ate in the bistro on Saturday evening.
I cannot fault the staff at the Allerdale - they were all friendly and extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
We intend to return to Cockermouth and will most definately return to the Allerdale Court. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank feetrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
0.5 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.6 km away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
5.1 km away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
9.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
8.4 km away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Allerdale Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Allerdale Court Hotel

Property: The Allerdale Court Hotel
Address: 18-20 Market Place, Cockermouth CA13 9NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#1 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,704 - ₹ 8,993
Hotel Class:3 star — The Allerdale Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your The Allerdale Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Allerdale Court Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing