We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Birthday Surprise and Mother's Day”
other travellers have booked this property
Brunt House - Newly refurbished
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brunt House - Newly refurbished
Loughrigg Tarn is a short walk from the house View from all rooms in Brunt House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Brunt House - Newly refurbished
Loughrigg Tarn is a short walk from the house
View from all rooms in Brunt House
Brunt House
Stunning Views!
Lovely gardens
Brunt House
Kitchen/Dining Room
Dining Table
The dining room
The Grand Drawing Room
Cosy Log Fire
Relax in the Italian leather sofas
The Library
Three bedroom suites
Bedroom views
Bath robes included
All en-suite luxury bathrooms
Soak in one of the cast iron roll-top bath tubs
Master bedroom suite
Views from the Master Bedroom
Anyone for chess - or a PS4 game?
Table football/foosball
Penthouse bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
akeithj
Sunderland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Birthday Surprise and Mother's Day”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have been fortunate enough to travel quite extensively and know the Lake District very well having been coming here for more years than I care to remember. My wife had an important birthday which coincided with Mother's day so I wanted somewhere special as a surprise and after looking at a large number of properties all over the UK, I chose Brunt House and was so pleased I did as it exceeded my expectations.
Christopher was a pleasure to deal with and the booking could not have been easier.
We both like homes which combine old and new in harmony and Brunt House does this perfectly with modern classics integrating seamlessly with bespoke hand built furniture. I don't think we have ever stayed anywhere, that was so comprehensively equipped.
For us one of the most outstanding features are the bedrooms which all enjoy fantastic view over the fells. We were very lucky when we stayed as the days were bright and the top of the fells were covered with snow. I don't think we will ever forget waking up to the sound of birds and the sun highlighting the snow covered fell tops.
Would we stay again..definitely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Bedrooms
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
Such a nice review, thank you. We certainly also enjoy the lovely views when we stay at the house, and every day the views change with the changing weather. Hope you will come again soon.

Best wishes,

Christopher & Gaynor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomcunny
Todmorden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brunt House is Smply Fantastic!”
Reviewed 6 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

What a wonderful house. Superbly renovated to the highest spec and standard. It was a real treat to stay at such a wonderful, relaxing house in a great part of the lakes.

Perfectly situated, off the beaten track yet close to Ambleside, Skelwith Bridge, Eltewater and the Langdales. With great walking country local pubs and restaurants right on the doorstep.

We ate out in the highly recommended Drunken Duck one night, only 5mins away in a cab. But it was also enjoyable to stay in and enjoy cooking in the fab kitchen. The rooms were wonderful. The comfiest beds, with gorgeous en-suits, full of top spec tastefully selected furniture and tech with some great, thoughtful local touches. The owners haven't spared on anything.

Thanks again. Definitely recommend to anyone thinking of booking. Brunt House is simply stunning.

Tom, Sara, Rick, Kristy.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2016
Dear Tom, many thanks for your review - sounds like you had a great time in the Lakes. Hope you will stay again soon.

Best wishes,

Christopher & Gaynor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla O
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way!!”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed at Brunt House for 4 nights in Feb 2016. The house is superbly located, a couple of miles from Ambleside, in a private and beautiful setting. The views from every room are exquisite, and the mod cons added to the WOW factor! The kids especially loved the "Herdy" lamb soft toys in each of the bedrooms, the table football, Netflix and PS4 ;) Most of all, the owners Christopher and Gaynor provided a first class experience from start to finish. Brunt House is an exceptional and unique holiday home, and we look forward to returning in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2016
Thank you for your review of Brunt House - we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. Christopher & Gaynor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire1...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning, Stunning, Stunning”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

As the title of my review suggests Brunt Hiuse is simply stunning. There is nothing that you could possible need, every need has been thought of and provided to the highest quality.
The house was large enough for 6 people to have ample space yet cosy enough for us to enjoy our evenings.
Location - although slightly hidden, no one in our party struggled to find (hosts gave great directions)..5 - 10 minutes away from Ambleside/Windermere.
Summary - 20 out of 10 fabulous, stunning, can't wait to re-visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2016
Thank you for your lovely review of Brunt House. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,
Christopher
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasia P
1 review
“Perfect long weekend get-away”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We had a truly splendid time in this wonderful house. The accommodation exceeded our expectations, the property being a great combination of traditional and modern exploiting its location and views to the full.
All the bedrooms have beautifully designed en-suite bathrooms, plenty of storage and stunning views across the magnificent Cumbrian landscape. The beds were super comfy and we went away wishing we had such speedy internet in London!
Apart from the fantastic hikes and walks we managed to eat in some great places: from 2 star Michelin restaurant to nearby gastro-pub and riverside cafe for breakfast.
We will definitely be coming back again!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2015
Thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed your stay at Brunt House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing