We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house with all ameneties in great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of High View

House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House
close view of house sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
House
close view of house
sitting room
sitting room
sitting room
dining area in dining kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
Bedroom on first floor
bedroom on first floor
bedroom on first floor
bedroom on second floor
bedroom on second floor
bedroom on second floor
twin bedroom on second floor
twin bedroom on second floor
shower room
bathroom
bathroom
view from garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
RC1961
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great house with all ameneties in great location”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

While we agree with the previous reviewer that the house, while very close to the village, is accessed by a steep pathway that may be difficult for some people, we found the house to be a great base for our walking holiday in April. The house was very clean with good quality bed linen and towels, and was well furnished. The kitchen diner was well appointed and provided a great communal space for our group dining in the evenings
We had a great stay with the combination of fabulous walks during the day and great dining in the evening. We all ate out one evening and can thoroughly recommend the Thai at the bottom of the hill - as good as anything I've eaten in London

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czd12345
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage ideal for family holiday”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed this lovely cottage with good modern facilities.
It's ideal for a family holiday with lovely bathrooms and kitchen with all equipment you need. We spent a lot of time cooking for the kids and found the dining kitchen great. Beds were very comfortable. The house is close (5mins) to great shops and /restaurants etc although walk into Ambleside would not suit elderly or infirm as it is steep.
Weather was good so we did make use of the garden for BBQ's.
Hope to be back next year

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debs R
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great Getaway that we've used on several occasions over the years.
You feel welcome from the start with pretty flowers and a bottle of wine from the owner. - a nice touch.
Great location for all the family; shops, pubs, restaurants, cinema, tennis, golf and lake adventures.
Up-to-date and very comfortable ; bikes in the cellar where we wash our mucky kit and an outdoor area to bask and relax. We have a great sleep here with cosy, fresh beds.
We even had a birthday dinner and cake in the kitchen which is well-appointed!
We'll be back again for more R&R.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKS994
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfortable but a few provisos”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We are really enjoying our time here. The weather is perfect and Ambleside is a good centre for walking and exploring. The house is comfortable but is on 4 floors with steep stairs. Fine for us but others might struggle. The walk up from the town centre is along a quiet footpath and is less than 5 minutes but is steep as the previous reviewer mentioned. We did enjoy being close but out of the way though. Agree with the comments about the garden, but has a good washing line and access through back garden gate onto footpath linking to Stockghyll woods and Wansfell walks. Good fast wifi but very small TV with DVD player but no DVDs and no games for wet days. Comfy beds and nice bathrooms and very clean. Nice big dining kitchen but some of the appliances in the kitchen (top oven didn't work and display on microwave was faulty) didn't work properly and several of the lights in the kitchen were out of order. No clocks at all. We also missed scissors. Good space for washing, drying and ironing in cellar.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2014
Thank you for your helpful comments about High View. I have arranged for an electrician to repair the top oven and ensure that all of the kitchen lights are working. Additionally, we will undertake a review of the kitchen equipment and replace any items that have gone missing. I am revising the website, so that it more accurately reflects the accessibility of the property
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“House very good outside challenging”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The garden description is inaccurate,it is very steep and unsuitable for children to play in,the wooden furniture is in fact steel,terrace too far from house for al fresco dining.
The house is 3 minutes from shops and restaurants but is not a stroll,as described,it is a very steep(approx 1/10 ) path and steps.
House has good facilities,beds were comfortable,Ambleside a good centre to explore the Lakes.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2014
Thank you for your helpful comments about High View. I have arranged to amend the website so it reflects your comments and provides a more accurate description for future guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing