We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
U.K.
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We recently had a 2 night stay at the Fisherbeck and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay, from checking in (we were able to check in early because our room hadn't been used the night before)to checking out all the staff were very friendly and helpful.The breakfast was one of the best weve had at a hotel for a long time.It's only a 5 minute walk into town or to the lake so the Fisherbeck is ideally situated.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Jon 1999,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a complimentary review and we are very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

I do think that our location is ideal, being just about half way between the lake and the shops, and with lovely views of the surrounding fells to the front.

As I cook breakfast every morning, with either husband Raymond or our manager Rachel, we really do appreciate your views. Rachel is the one responsible for putting on our rather interesting array of specials and trust you might have had the opportunity to try one or two.

Thank you again and we do hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck when next planning a visit to the Lake District.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    104
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
58
332
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We have stayed in a few different b & b's in Ambleside over the last six years. Whilst most of them have been good, there has usually been a bit of an issue with parking. This time we tried 'The Fisherbeck' as it has it's own good-sized car park. We had a wonderful welcome from the owners, they couldn't do enough for us.

The whole place is spotless. The bedroom was lovely and the breakfasts were wonderful with an amazing and varied menu all served (no self-service) and cooked to order.

It is located about half way between the town and the lake, so it is an easy walk to either. We can certainly recommend the Ambles restaurant and the China Garden.

We can heartily recommend this guest house, it is superb.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dk_iom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.
It means a great deal to us.

I must admit it does make quite a difference having a reasonabley sized car park which I know can be a bit of a problem in Ambleside. The beauty of being located where we are, nicely between the shops, restaurants and the lake, and just a stonesthrow from the Garden Centre means that you can park and not have to drive again until you are ready to leave if you wish. Another advantage for the more active is that there are great walks right from the front door, up to Jenkins Cragg, Troutbeck, Wansfell and many others.

Thank you again and we do hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck in the not too distant future. Our 3 nights for the price of 2 offer continues until April 4th and will resume in November. Mid-week offers however are available throughout the year.

We trust you had a safe and pleasant return journey to the Isle of Man.
Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Paterson Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We had not booked in advance but were lucky enough to get a triple room in this Hotel with parking which was a bonus. It is a lovely family run hotel. Central to town. The breakfast was lovely . The weather was pretty miserable but in the afternoon after we had been for a sail on Lake Windermere we got back to the hotel wet and cold and it was lovely to sit by the windpw in the lounge room and order afternoon tea from the menu. Our triple room was very spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately we live in Australia or we would be spending many weekends at this Hotel.

Room Tip: If travelling in threes and wish separate beds the triple room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rothsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post your review and we trust you had an enjoyable time whilst vacationing last year, and a safe return trip to Australia.

The family room that we were able to provide you with certainly is very spacious and I too think it is ideal for three travelling together each wanting their own bed space. And whilst it is on the second floor, and no lift, I do think the space and the views from up there are worth the stairs!!!

We too are sorry that you do not live a little closer because we would be delighted to have you with us more often, but if you are planning another trip in the future please let us know so we can hopefully hold onto that room for you.

Thanks again
Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Deserves all the plaudits. Strikes a nice balance between a b&b and a hotel. Quiet even when busy. Staff very helpful when dealing with requests for variations of the breakfast menu. Refreshments available throughout the day to relax in the lounge with. No hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swa1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear swa1960,

Sorry to be so impersonal but please know how very much I & all the team here at The Fisherbeck appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write your review. Your comments will be passed along to each of our staff members.

We trust you had a safe and pleasant journey home after your stay with us and we hope you will consider us again if you are planning a future holiday in the Lake District.

With thanks again
kind regards
Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We only stayed one night but we wish it could have been longer.... We could not fault the staff and nothing was a problem. The room was immaculate and comfortable. The breakfast was especially impressive, sit down with table service and a extensive menu. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaBrezmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Tanya,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your very complimentary review.

It is very gratifying to know when you do an all consuming job like this one that you are getting it right, maybe not all the time, but that is what we strive for. We also pass all our reviewers comments on to our team who very much appreciate such remarks.

We too were very sorry you could only be with us for the one night but hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck sometime in the future.

With thanks again
Kind regards
Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.6 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel
0.5 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
5.2 km away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
6.3 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Property: The Fisherbeck
Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,943 - ₹ 10,550
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing