We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice and Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake House
Ranked #15 of 106 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice and Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had an excellent stay over two nights, greeted with friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is just off the main road but very little traffic noise at night and has a large well maintained garden to the front. Our room (3) was of a good size complete with a nice view of the lake and the setting sun at night. Everything was nice and comfortable in the room and had one of the best 'walk in' power showers we have had in along time...plently of room for two !!
Breakfast was self service, the food was of a good standard with a large choice.
All in all a lovely pleasant hotel that can be recommmended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattib65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
It's great that you had a nice, comfortable stay with us at Lake House especially enjoying Room 3 and all that is has to offer!!

We appreciate your feedback and maybe when you visit us again you can enjoy one of the local events like the Olympic Torch coming through Waterhead on the 21st June or Ambleside Sports Day 26th July, keep an eye on our website for all the latest offers.

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    148
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
47
398
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We recently stayed in this very modern b&b were the staff were very friendly and helpful. Although we had a ground floor room, because the hotel is high above the roadside we had a lovely view over the lake. The room was large and bright and had all the amenities you need like hairdryer, iron, tea/coffee facilities. The breakfast was buffet style and had an extensive choice of food and fruit juices and you could also order salmon and scrambled eggs which i highly recommend.
It is only a short walk into Ambleside which has a wide variety of restaurants and bars offering plenty of choice to dine out.
The hotel is in an ideal spot to tour all the surrounding countryside either by car, or on foot if you enjoy walking.
This trip was booked by our children and their partners as a surprise for us and I have to say we could not have picked better ourselves and we will definately stay here again when we return to the area again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Hello Pat, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Lake House and that you were impressed with your families choice of somewhere to stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime and make sure you check our web site for all the latest offers.

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Upon check-in we were greeted with a friendly smile by the helpful staff at the Lake House. Our bedroom was spacious and had everything you could need including a hairdryer and an iron. The bed was comfortable as was the duvet and pillows. There was a good selection of DVDs available including some recent releases. Breakfast was fantastic with continental and a cooked breakfast available on the buffet. The location of the Lake House was a pleasant 15-20 minute walk from the centre of Ambleside or a 5 minute drive with plenty of parking available. Can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
It' great to hear that you enjoyed Lake house and had a relaxing, comfortable time.

If you are looking to visit us a again in the near future we have a great offer, book a spring break before the end of March and get an amazing 10% discount plus free cruise tickets! just call us direct.

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Lake House is a modern b&b very close to the Ambleside waterfront with very comfortable, well-appointed rooms and bathrooms. The room I stayed in was of average size and opened out on a little patio with a sit-out. It's not quite a lake view (at least not from their "hideaway rooms", but it's very close to the lake; a steep 20-minute walk from the back door of the hotel will take you upto Jenkin crag which has some lovely views of Lake Windermere. Parking was always available and the House is about a fifteen minute walk to the centre of Ambleside. They do have wifi internet in the main lounge but the signal didn't reach our room.

Breakfast was buffet-style and about average. They apparently offer dine-in options, although with a very limited menu catered from a nearby hotel.

Bottomline: great value for money, and very comfortable rooms!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smallgoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
We areally appreciate you taking the time to write a review the feed back is great, it sound like you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed one of our Hideaway rooms.

Maybe if you stay with us next time as a customer of Lake House you can book dinner with a 10% discount at our sister hotel just round the corner which is excellent value , why not take advantage of this fantastic offer!

Thank you

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

The B&B is situated in the village of Ambleside at the top of a fairly steep hill with a lovely garden and views of Lake Winderemere. We chose it because it was small and had a view.
Our room was 5 really large with a large comfy bed and a lovely modern bathroom with lots of towels and toiletries.Breakfast was buffet style plentiful and very fresh. As its a B&B dinner is not served although we were happy to eat out and there is plenty of places nearby. Lake House offers to deliver a carry out meal to your room and you can choose from a good selection of DVD's. Its a good idea and if we had been staying more than two nights would probably taken advantage of this.
The down side of this particular B&B is the busy road you have to cross once you negociate the steep path so not recommended for the faint - hearted or anyone with walking difficulties.
We would definately stay again if visiting the area. We would like to say thanks to Katy who was helpful with a bubbly personality an asset to Lake House.

Room Tip: Room 5 on the first floor to the front is excellent with lovely views of the lake and very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
It's great to hear that you found Lake House a great little bed and breakfast and enjoyed it's location and everything it has to offer, and like you have said Katy is a little gem very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

Next time you can maybe try the 'cosy night in' it is very popular, so hopefully we will see you again soon.

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.2 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.1 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
5.4 km away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel
0.8 km away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
5.8 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake House

Property: Lake House
Address: Lake Rd | Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,928 - ₹ 10,996
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run country house has spectacular views across Waterhead Bay, Windermere Loughrigg Fell and the Langdale Peaks as well as offering stylish, modern and luxurious accommodation. With its country house atmosphere combined with stylish decor and modern luxury touches, not to mention its eighteen gorgeous bedrooms and wonderful raised vistas, Lake House is a perfect place to stay and make your own. Come together in the large, light dining and living area with stunning lake views, or find your own space to relax and escape on one of the lovely reading landings or from the privacy of your large bedroom. Lake House manages to combine grandeur and intimacy in private surroundings for all occasions. Please note, due to the relaxing nature of the building rooms are not suitable for children.Each of the 18 bedrooms are decorated and fitted to the highest standards, all en-suite with TV with DVD, CD players and tea/coffee making facilities. Some superior rooms feature four poster beds and have the best views over Lake Windermere.Traditional Lakeland breakfast is served in the dining room with an array of continental breads, cereals and fruit with wonderful lake and mountain views. Full English is set out for you to help yourself and there are trays for you to take it all up to your room if you so wish - breakfast in bed do it yourself style!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake House Hotel Ambleside
Lake House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing