We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Valentines getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake House
Ranked #15 of 106 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Valentines getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We enjoyed a three day valentines break and we were impressed with the location of our room;for it's great view, cleaninness & comfort. The friendliness of the staff was also outstanding. As the Lakehouse is a B&B for our valentines meal we chose to dine at the it's sister hotel; The Regent which was a five minute walk away & offered great value for money, brilliant service and outstanding food. The breakfast service was very nice & relaxing. We'll definately be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the hide away room which offered privacy, great views and were also quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny8187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Valentines weekend with us at Lake House, and it's good that your were impressed with everthing that Lake House has to offer, also visiting our sister place The Regent and enjoyed a meal in our newly refurbished bar.

Thanks for your review we really do appreciate yhe feedback.

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    148
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
47
400
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Took a three night stay at Lake Side and enjoyed the experience.

Our room was clean and tidy and enjoyed a fine view of the Lake and surrounding hills.

Breakfast was good. Two out of the three mornings was a buffet with a good choice of usual items. The other day I chose smoked salmon and scrambled eggs which was cooked a bit strangely.

At times the sound carried through the house and disturbed us a little but not too much to disappoint our stay.

Right next to the house is a path up to Jenkins crag which is well worth a trip.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan-Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your enjoyable experience with us at Lake House, and making the most of the location enjoying the walk up Jenkins Crag to the back of the property and then onto Troutbeck.

We are sorry to hear that you found your scrambled egg and smoked salmon a bit strange but we just cook the scrambled egg and then add the smoked salmon but I will certainly look into this for you.

Hopefully we will beable to welcome you back again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We enjoyed a two night stay at this very nice hotel. The room was delightful, large and spotlessly clean. The tea and coffee tray was a welcome addition and much appreciated after a walk in the cold winter air. The hotel is situated two minutes walk away from the lake (which is beautiful, even in winter) and only ten minutes from the main shopping area. The staff were cheerful and helpful. Breakfast was buffet style, hot and cold, with a good variety of foods on offer, all cooked well.
Perfect get away for a peaceful weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms available at the rear for pet owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenRT1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review and it's great to hear that you found Lake House a great venue for a perfect getaway weekend break.

We wil pass on your comments to all the staff at Lake House and we look foward to seeing you again, keep an eye on our website for all our latest offers!!

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Had a weekend in this first class hotel during October. Our first time here but will certainly not be the last. A really well organised and friendly hotel in a glorious location on the tip of Lake Windermere. The Staff and Service was excellent and the food was well above standard and just about every aspect of this hotel is faultless !! We had a room that was spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. An excellent hotel for any time of year and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
It's fantastic to hear that you had a heavenly weekend at Lake House, like you mentioned it is a lovely location at the tip of windermere lake but yet only a short walk to the centre of Ambleside.

Thank you for your kind review and it's great to get such good positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Chose this hotel for its looks - what a disapointment!!!!
It looks as though it is set in its own grounds - that couldnt be further from the truth!
Its set on a main road up a VERY steep drive, with a small garden to the front that you cant walk round.
We werent even in the hotel proper - its has 4 rooms that look like a conversion adjacent to the hotel - this was not mentioned in the "blurb" or when we booked.
It serves breakfast but nothing else, and has no bar.
The room we had was very modern without any character and was poorly laid out - the bathroom on the otherhand was very large but again was very bare - lots of slate.
Whoever took the photos for this hotel is worth their weight in gold - theyve managed to make a mediocre hotel look much better than it is.
They have a "sister" hotel across the road that they reccomend for meals - only go if you have deep pockets - we were charged five pounds for a "tomato and onion salad" - this was actually 4 slices of tomato with a bit of onion grated over the top with a sprinkling of basil.
It is very close to the lake but actually has restricted views unless you get the best seat in the breakfast room!!
I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone with any walking difficulties due to the steep driveway.
This hotel is very over priced for what you get - maybe its better if you get a room in the hotel itself.
Wouldnt go again.

Room Tip: They dont tell you if youre not in the main hotel, youll have to ask otherwise they put you in "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, Owner at Lake House, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Mrs B.Thank you for your second review regarding your stay at Lake House in June 2011.
I am sorry that you have had to post your review more than once.
Many of you comments are still extreme and very upsetting for myself and the whole team at Lake House who work so hard to give all our guest the best possible experience. All our hardwork, effort and customer service has just been acknowledged with a award from Trip Adviser

" Trip Advisers Travellers choice awards list "

Taking Lake House into the UKs Top 25! based on 60 million reviews and opinions from travellers around the world.

Your comments regarding our dinner was not at our sister hotel but another hotel entirely!

Thank you again
Jason Hewitt
Lake House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.2 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
0.1 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
5.4 km away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel
0.8 km away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
5.8 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake House

Property: Lake House
Address: Lake Rd | Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,883 - ₹ 10,901
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run country house has spectacular views across Waterhead Bay, Windermere Loughrigg Fell and the Langdale Peaks as well as offering stylish, modern and luxurious accommodation. With its country house atmosphere combined with stylish decor and modern luxury touches, not to mention its eighteen gorgeous bedrooms and wonderful raised vistas, Lake House is a perfect place to stay and make your own. Come together in the large, light dining and living area with stunning lake views, or find your own space to relax and escape on one of the lovely reading landings or from the privacy of your large bedroom. Lake House manages to combine grandeur and intimacy in private surroundings for all occasions. Please note, due to the relaxing nature of the building rooms are not suitable for children.Each of the 18 bedrooms are decorated and fitted to the highest standards, all en-suite with TV with DVD, CD players and tea/coffee making facilities. Some superior rooms feature four poster beds and have the best views over Lake Windermere.Traditional Lakeland breakfast is served in the dining room with an array of continental breads, cereals and fruit with wonderful lake and mountain views. Full English is set out for you to help yourself and there are trays for you to take it all up to your room if you so wish - breakfast in bed do it yourself style!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake House Hotel Ambleside
Lake House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing