We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend break”
Review of Rothay Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rothay Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
North West
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our party of four adults spent 2 nights, Sun & Mon, D, B&B. Building is listed, and of great character. Pretty gardens to the front overlooked by the superior rooms. Inside, the building is genteel, the atmosphere is relaxing, and the attentiveness of the staff was second to none. Food was tremendous. Our stay was extremely pleasant. Downside is the amount of traffic noise from the road. Rothey is located at the edge of Ambleside, so town is easily within walking distance.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the upgrade to superior rooms which are large, and with balconies overlooking the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welltravelled50_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHotel, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear Welltravelled, thank you for your review, we are very happy that you and and your party enjoyed your stay. You are right, unfortunately with our location on the outskirts of ambleside we do occasionally suffer from some traffic noise during the day, however at night it is minimul. If this a concern that would stop you visiting again please ask for a room on the first floor when you next make a reservation and we will allocate you a room in a quieter part of the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    125
    41
    11
    8
See reviews for
106
341
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Have just spent two nights at Rothey Manor(this was our 2nd visit)and we have had a lovely stay.We stayed in Room 14,again for the 2nd time,super size bed,plenty of space,lovely sitting area and great bathroom,very clean.The food at all times was great,especially at our evening meal,suberb menu and great choice,and as always very friendly and helpfull staff.Good location for getting out and about,will certainly be paying them another visit!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank classeylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffs
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Spent two nights at the hotel, room was spacious and nicely decorated, usual facilities. Staff very pleasant and professional. Bit quiet in the lounge area, easy walk to town. Breakfast was first class, dinner menu was wide ranging.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHotel, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your review. Over the years Rothay manor has been renowned for its relaxed, peaceful and friendly atmosphere, and we are glad that you discovered this. Generally the evening are quite quiet, but I do feel this helps create a relaxing environment. Are Head Chef is very happy that you enjoyed breakfast and the that are evening menu choices were to your satisfaction. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We recently spent a couple of nights at Rothay Manor. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome. Our room was beautifully appointed, clean and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and were impressed with the quality and presentation of our meals which were delicious. Service was attentive without being intrusive. This is a place we definitely hope to return to.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliz1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHotel, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy you enjoyed your visit and hope you will come and stay with us again. We are very proud with our food and service, it is something that is commented on by many of our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
155 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We spent the Valentine weekend at Rothay Manor. There isn@t 1 bad thing to say about this hotel. The welcome was great, as we were arriving late we arranged sandwiches on arrival and they were brought to us without asking the whole organization of this hotel is fantastic.

The rooms were lovely, immaculately clean and the bed comfortable. They provide proper tea making facilities which I have noticed a lot of hotels are phasing out. The rooms were cleaned daily and toiletries and tea making items replaced.

We had booked on a special offer and had 2 evening meals in the hotel, although the menu choice was not extensive I found choices to suit me, although I am quite fussy eater. The food itself was gorgeous, well prepared from fresh ingredients and truly tasty. My partner doesn't usually enjoy desserts but he definitely did here.

The breakfast choice was good, with a choice of cereals, fruit and yoghurts. And yes freshly squeezed orange juice! The cooked breakfast menu was good with individual tasted being taken into account and a great choice, Order the freshly baked croissants they are delicious. The breakfast is cooked individually and the food was hot and good.

We are already onsidering booking for the summer. 5 stars from us

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHotel, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear BlackpoolCarol, Thanks for your great review, we will look forward to see-ing you in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
2.5 km away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
6.6 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.9 km away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Manor Hotel

Property: Rothay Manor Hotel
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,054 - ₹ 17,513
Hotel Class:3 star — Rothay Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rothay Manor Hotel & Fine Dining, recently awarded 4 stars by the AA, offers a relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere in a luxury country house setting. There are 19 individually designed en-suite bedrooms, spacious comfortable lounges, award-winning 2 AA rosette fine dining restaurant and outstanding service. Open for Lunch, Afternoon Tea and Dinner every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Rothay Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Manor Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing