We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our golden wedding celebration”
Review of Riverside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverside B&B
Ranked #3 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night stay with Brenda & Dave and we can only say it was the best experience of a stay in England we have ever had. The accomodation is the very best - the cleanliness and comfortable room - together with wonderful food at breakfast cannot be surpassed. Congratulations to a perfect couple - no wonder you are at the 'top of your tree'

Rob & Audrey Tidd Rochford Essex

Room Tip: Room 2 -four poster - altho we stayed in room 6 which was also excellent - but smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

623 - 627 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

Wow, I really don't know where to start!! This is simply the best B&B we have ever stayed in, it even beats hotels we have stayed in before, and we have stayed in some very good ones.

The location is stunning, overlooking river rothay, set in a large, very well tended garden with views of the fells behind it. It is situated on a quiet lane about an easy 10-15mins stroll from the centre of Ambleside very tranquil indeed, yet close to all amenities. The guest lounge is very cosy and welcoming with books, magazines, and, dvds in abundance. There are also guest comments regarding local restaurants which come in very handy when you are unsure where to eat. At night time the lounge is lit with low level lighting, and, candles with logs burning in the fireplace, the settees are very comfortable indeed making this a lovely place to sit and relax especially at evening with a bottle of reasonably priced wine (they are also licensed).

We stayed in room no 1 which had its own small sitting area, bathroom with bath and a very good shower indeed, lots and lots of hot water, and, pure lakes toiletries - hand wash, body lotion, shower gel, and, shampoo (each one a good size 250ml bottle), as well as fluffy towels. The wardrobes contained more than enough hangars (we stayed for 4 nights), for once we didn't need to double up! The bed was very comfortable indeedalso , a range of tea, coffees, hot chocolate, and, biscuits were provided, a tv was in the room, and, dvd players also available we had a wonderful view of the garden.

The breakfast room is lovely and sunny with a delightful view of the river, and front of the garden watching the other guests, birds, ducks, squirrels whilst having breakfast. Speaking of breakfasts absolutely delicious, the best we have ever tasted and presented very well indeed. Not only your usual choices of full english, vegetarian breakfasts, cereals etc, but freshly pressed orange juice, jummy fruit muesli pots (I will really miss those), and, Brendas homemade breads - every day a different one (date and walnut our favourite) with handmade jams and marmalades.

However, I have saved the best thing about Riverside till last, the hosts. Dave and Brenda are an absolute joy, nothing at all was to much trouble for them, anything we needed they supplied for us including an early breakfast. They are so informative about the area, walks, directions, booking taxis for us, and obtaining the type of wine we liked as they had just run out of it, everything done with a smile. We may have arrived as guests, but felt as though we were leaving as friends, with Dave and Brenda coming out to bid us farewell. They work very hard ensuring their guests comfort it is no wonder they have many returning year after year.

Thank you Dave and Brenda for a wonderful stay, you thoroughly deserve all the excellent reviews you have, see you soon!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amberpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Riverside is simply the finest B&B we have ever had the fortune to visit. David and Brenda always make you feel welcome, the house is stunning, as are the incredible breakfasts. The location is ideal, being just outside of Ambleside on a quiet road, but still within easy walking distance of the local facilities. Most of the guests are repeat customers which tells you all you need to know.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MannersCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The reviews on TripAdvisor speak for themselves and my stay at Riverside was absolutely wonderful.

Riverside is an oasis of calm where there is such attention detail. Consideration has been given to enhance every aspect of your stay. Dave and Brenda are such wonderful hosts - nothing is too much trouble for them. Their achievements speak for themselves but each and every accolade is richly derseved.

Breakfast was absolutely divine - how I missed the smoked salmon and scrambled egg the morning after I left!

If you are planning to stay in the Lakes, there is nowhere better than Riverside.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank winstanleyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is a great B&B in a lovely location a short walk from town. Dave and Brenda were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The Breakfast was the best we have had in the UK. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigPhil1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.8 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,239 reviews
1.0 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,731 reviews
0.9 km away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#2 of 103 in Ambleside
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
1,211 reviews
0.6 km away
Amboseli Lodge
Amboseli Lodge
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
376 reviews
0.7 km away
Diamond Lodge Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside B&B

Address: Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England (Formerly Riverside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: ₹ 7,655 - ₹ 10,579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1866, Riverside provides award-winning B&B set in a beautiful rural riverside location, but within a 10 minutes scenic walk of the centre of Ambleside. Riverside provides an ideal location to explore many differentaspects of the National Park and we are only 15mins walk from Waterhead where you can catch the Lake Windermere steamers. Riverside has been awarded both an VisitBritain Gold Award and an AA "Highly Commended" certificate,which recognizes both "exceptional quality"and "the very best ten percent of establishments in their category, in the UK" and in addition, Riverside has been recommended by the Guardian and other newspapers and is featured inprestigious publications such as the Michelin Travel Guide and is "author's choice" in the "Rough Guide to the Lakes". Wherever possible, Riverside sources local ingredients and in addition offers natural, organic, bathroom products, made in Ambleside. We have DVD players and a library of DVDs and Riverside is fully WiFi Internet enabled. Our prices are per room per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riverside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside B&B Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing