We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cosy cottage five minutes away from town”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blue Hill Cottage

Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
Outside the cottage. Showing our car parking space.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
88 reviews
Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
Outside the cottage.
Showing our car parking space.
A prosecco moment!
Relaxing in the lounge!
Double bedroom
Twin room.
Newly renovated bathroom with walk-in shower.
Bathroom
Some visitors arrive by horse!
A walk from Bluehill Cottage overlooking Grasmere.
A host of dancing daffodils- by Stockghyll waterfalls a short walk from the cottage.
Lake Windermere at Waterhead. 10 mins walk from cottage.
Waterhead.
Cosy lounge leading to dining area and well equipped kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Debbie W
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage five minutes away from town”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed in this cottage for 4 nights in May, and had a great week. The weather was very kind, and the cottage had all the facilities you could need. Very comfortable, warm, with fantastic views from the front of the property. Very quiet, on the outskirts of town but literally 5 minutes walk down to the shops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect cozy get away.”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here over New year to get away from all the hype. It was perfect, left completely relaxed after long walks and cozy nights in front of the coal fire. Facilities are excellent, it's like a home from home. Just a short walk into Ambleside centre were we found lots of nice coffee shops and traditional pubs. We will defiantly return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netty-Net...
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy, cottage conveniently placed in Ambleside”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Small, clean, warm cottage with all the facilities required for self catering. Easy to use private parking a short distance from the cottage and only a short walk into Ambleside town centre. Wood and coal supplied for the first fire in the open grate. The cottage can easily sleep 4 but the downstairs would be a little cramped with 4 adults in situ. If nervous about stairs it is worth bearing in mind that the cottage has no landing, just a step down to a stair tread between the bathroom and main bedroom (which are opposite each other) and the twin bedroom door also opens straight out onto the stairs. The cottage had been decorated for Christmas which was a thoughtful gesture and created a welcoming feel. Would stay again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2015
Thanks for your review. We have just had a pump fitted so hopefully the water pressure problem will be solved from now on. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mancheste...
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good to be back”
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is the 5th time we have stayed at Blue Hill cottage in Ambleside. It's a cosy little cottage in a quiet part of ambleside but only a few minutes from the centre. It has a small lounge area with 2 two seater settees a tv and a lovely open fire. There is a dining area tucked under the space beneath stairs and an adjoining small kitchen area with all the appliances you will need. There is quite a steep staircase leading to 2 bedrooms and a bathroom and toilet. I would think that people with walking difficulties would have an issue with staircase so just be aware, I also think small children would have to be supervised going down the stairs as well, for any one else there should not be a problem. Both bedrooms are a reasonable size, one has a new double bed and the other has two singles. The bathroom has a basin, bath with power shower and toilet, this is where the boiler is as well. The boiler has just been replaced and the owner says they are still having teething problems due to water pressure but apparently this is due to be rectified shortly. During our stay getting hot water wasn't an issue but the shower did lose pressure slightly when a tap was used down stairs but as I said this issue should be rectified soon. Another new facility is the wifi, we found this very handy indeed. We can recommend this cottage, thats why we regularly return, and when the weathers good no where else can beat the beauty of the Lake District.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KfromWale...
Wales, UK
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Peaceful, snug, cosy and comfortable”
Reviewed 29 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed for a 3 night short break.

The cottage was as we expected, with the added bonus of comfy settees, a very well equipped kitchen and absolute peace and quiet at night.

The wifi was one of the reasons we picked this cottage and it was easy to connect and always available. There was an excellent shower and plenty of hot water.

The bed was very comfy with quality linens. The towels were lovely and fluffy. The cottage is very well equipped to self cater.

The location of the cottage is ideal, as it's off a side road and up a hill which means that there is little passing traffic (unlike a lot of holiday cottages we saw) yet only a 5 minute walk to the main street of Ambleside.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and felt very chilled on leaving and would book this cottage for our trips to Ambleside should it be available

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Steep staircase
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing