We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dream Luxury Cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rm1003
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Dream Luxury Cottage!”
Reviewed 11 February 2011 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our first stay in pudding cottage. Well, what a delightful and luxury cottage it is! The photos on the internet don’t do it justice. It’s fresh, clean, modern, with just about every convenience, and fully stocked with everything you could dream of!! It’s located in a superb location, nice and peaceful, but only minutes away from Ambleside with its delightful shops!
Prior to our trip I must say our criteria to look for a perfect cottage was set high because we did not want a sterile holiday cottage but a luxurious standard basically a home away from home so we decided to look on Trip Advisor and quickly found Pudding cottage based on the best rating given and the excellent reviews of ALL their previous guests. I must say we were so so happy here and Trip Advisor really did a good job for us finding the cottage. There is so much attention to detail and much effort has gone into creating the perfect home away from home.
Membership of Low Wood leisure club was a real bonus and we made use of it every day during our stay.
The cottage is extremely kids friendly from stocked full toy boxes to dollhouses, also outdoor trikes, next time we must bring our kids with – they’d have an absolute beano!! The large safe back garden is a real pro, kids could play out there, and you can watch them from the window!
We had an amazing short holiday at Pudding Cottage, and we can’t wait to come back again!!!
Jacky is so helpful, nothing is too much for her!!!
We would highly recommend Pudding Cottage to everyone, young and old alike!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Reviewed 23 December 2010 for a stay in November 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
scarlettp...
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous wekkend!!”
Reviewed 7 December 2010 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Had a wonderful snowy weekend at Pudding cottage, well equiped and so homely. We arrived in teh snow and were just like little children in awe of the surroundings of the cottage. The cottage has everything you could think of from crystal wine glasses, psp, extra duvets, torch, wildlife in teh garden! just can't fault it. Will definately be returning. Near to all local ammenities walk to local spar and pub with roaring log fire! perfect!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeleneSha...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic family cottage”
Reviewed 29 November 2010 for a stay in November 2010
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a fantastic week at pudding cottage. This was our first holiday with our 1 year old, and we couldn't have chosen better. The owners clearly understand what you may need when away from home with small people, from toys (including a toddler trike), and childrens cuttlery/plates, to black out blinds on the childrens rooms. There is a stair gate, highchair, and two travel cots.

The cottage is opposite the Lake District visitors centre which has a nice cafe, adventure playground and walks by the lake.

The cottage is also great for adults, and we thoroughly enjoyed our time. We used the leisure club included in the price of the cottage for a lovely swim - and next time I'll attend a class there too!

Our daughter took her first steps on this holiday, so for more than one reason we will always remember pudding cottage!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cherylhk
Dromore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We love Pudding Cottage!”
Reviewed 18 October 2010 for a stay in August 2010

This year was our third stay at Pudding Cottage and it never disappoints!! Beautifully decorated with everything you could possibly need!! Our children love coming here as does my mum!! As soon as we arrive and unpack I can feel the tension disappear. It is such a relaxing place to stay with the lovely safe garden, wild birds, ducks and occasional appearance of deer! An unsurpassed attention to detail with childrens toys, dvds, books, games, the owners really have thought of everything. There are so many good walks straight from the cottage and a fantastic visitor centre (Brockhole) just down the lane and across the road, yet the cottage is so private. The location could not be better, in between Windermere and Ambleside and the boat at Brockhole is a lovely way to travel on a nice day. Regardless of weather there is plently to do, my husband took the kids to a climbing wall in Kendal on a wet day and now they have taken it up as a sport!!! Lots of very good restaurants nearby, our favourite is the 'Drunken Duck' for a night when granny is babysitting. The Apple Pie in Ambleside is really good for cooked breakfasts and lunch and shopping at Booths in Windermere is excellent for groceries, fresh breads and deli stuff!! I cannot recommend Pudding Cottage highly enough, we fell in love with it at first sight and hope to return soon, would love to visit in autumn or winter!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing