We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JimW551
San Clemente, California
Level 6 Contributor
798 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Great cottage!”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Four of us stayed here the end of August. What a beautiful and well appointed cottage! It is clean and everything the owner said it would be. It is well located between Windemere and Ambleside. Very central to the Lakes! One day we walked from our front door on a beautiful 7 mile hike which took us to the top of Wansfell Pike. We can't say anything but good about Pudding Cottage. We'd stay here again in a heart beat. The only challenge is finding the drive way when you first get here as it is not as easy as we had hoped!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GsyGirl21
Guernsey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An attractive, well equipped cottage in a perfect location for exploring all the Lake District has to offer.”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as a family of 4 with 2 children, 5 and 4. The booking process was very easy and straight forward and Liz was very helpful and a pleasure to liaise with. The cottage was perfect for us and very clean and attractively furnished, a real home from home (the toy box and craft boxes were a real hit with the children). The location was perfect for us, being just between Windermere and Ambleside away from the masses of tourists (I know we were tourists too!!). It is just across the road from Brockhole Visitor Centre which we all enjoyed thoroughly (tree top nets, adventure playground, lovely gardens and nice cafe). There are some lovely walks straight out from the cottage as well offering superb views across Windermere. The addition of the leisure pass was a real plus especially one wet morning. We had a great family holiday. There is so much to do in the Lake District which we didn't get round to doing that we will definitely back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The perfect holiday home from home.”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

After being in Pudding cottage for a short period of time everyone felt at home. The facilities for all including the children (both below 3) was superb. The activities available within a short walking distance are great as is the use of the leisure center with heated indoor pool which was perfect for the small children. A very enjoyable and relaxing stay which we shall be repeating soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious family living.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron V
2 reviews
“Excellent - Great place to stay”
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is the second time we have stayed at Pudding Cottage, its such a great place to stay, Jacky really keeps the cottage maintained to a high standard and is great to deal with.

The cottage is also in a great location for Bowness, Windermere and Ambleside.

I'm booking again for next year, its become a tradition to stay at Pudding Cottage now!

Aaron

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheeky_Mo...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The best for family!”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in July 2014

If you are a family with kids, this place is the best. The owner has thought of everything anyone would need. It's facilities are superb.

The location is also perfect.

We truly enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing