We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sabrinoui...
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spend a fantastic week in Pudding Cottage. Its was clean and cosy, with a very nice garden. The location is perfect, between windermere and ambleside. With the Brockhole center in front wich is a very nice place to eat lunch and take the boat to ambleside with Also a lot of activities for kids. There is 2 wonderfull hotel next to the cottage with very nice pubs and view to the lakes: the Cragwood and the Merewood country house. Just 5min walk away. What we appreciated the most in th cottage was that its fully equiped for everything. The kitchen was perfect to cook a great meal. The livingroom full of dvds, books, digital tv, xbox with games. The bathroom with local soaps and bodycream. The garden with barbecue and nice tables and toys for kids. And we had a welcome baskett full of delicious biscuits and jams. Well its just the perfect place to spend hollidays with the familly. We had a great time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the cosiness of the house
Liked least: Only one room with double bed, the two other ones are with twin beds. Great for a couple with kids less nice if more than one couple in th house
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Podington
Reviewed 7 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Altrincham
Reviewed 2 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chestnutb...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lakes are perfect, Pudding not so much”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This cottage is almost entirely North-facing (the window at the top of the stairs - facing South to the lake - is the only exception) so, although the lighting is excellent, the house feels dark even on the most beautiful of days.
We spent two weeks here and our first week was spent in daily contact with Lakelovers due to problems in the house. These included an ongoing problem with the boiler and hot water, ants in the livingroom, the washer/dryer not working and a few other, less pressing things which needed attention. All these things were dealt with fairly promptly by Lakelovers' maintenance staff. The owner was very concerned about the boiler and at the end of our first week sent us some wine and chocolates.
These things aside the house was fine, although we were very disappointed with the private patio area. Piles of autumn leaves lay in every corner, the bbq was rusted and had a broken leg and huge weeds had taken hold. There was a general feeling of neglect, which the broken bird table and feeders and odd pieces of garden rubbish did nothing to dispel. As the house is in constant shadow it would have been great to have an attractive patio area to spend time in.
The communal garden was well kept and looks on to beautiful mature trees and greenery. The children enjoyed playing there, although this area is not gated off and leads to a car park via both exit paths so you can't leave them.
Pudding Cottage is beautiful from the outside and the location, between Windermere and Ambleside, and across the road from Brockhole, is really wonderful, especially for families. A huge amount of thought has been put into catering for pre-school children and you'll find everything you need for them here. Adult comforts haven't been given the same attention and we didn't feel like we were in a five star property - in fact, it felt very much as if we were staying in someone's house. The internet tv was unwatchable - every programme started buffering after a few seconds - the stereo was fine but didn't take an aux cable to play an MP3 and there was no docking system either and the patio area wasn't very inviting.
The house's decor is very homely and there are stacks of old dvds to watch and games etc but overall it just didn't feel very comfortable and we didn't look forward to spending time there. We paid a high price for our two week stay and didn't feel as if we got value for money.
Clearly many people have loved Pudding, and I'm sure many more will, but it was too much like home for us, and too many little, irritating things seem to have been overlooked or neglected.
Our family holiday is a very important time for us; a rare opportunity to unwind, and - having stayed in a lot of self-catering properties - we just didn't find Pudding particularly relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general location
Liked least: The dark house
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2013
Thank you for this feedback. We acknowledge there were problems with the boiler which although we did everything we could turned out not to be the boiler at all as we communicated to you -but the gas feed to the area which was corrected by EON. The washer dryer was fixed within the hour by emptying the filter
The very comment you made about why Pudding was not to your taste - ie' it feels like home' is the very reason that most of our guests come and stay - they love to feel comfortable and have their children happy and safe.
I take on board your comment about the BBQ which we do replace every year as it is exposed to the elements in the Lakes _ will have a new one delivered this week . The leaves on the patio are probably the result of recent high winds in the area but are cleared as regularly as we can.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Reviewed 21 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing