We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Far from the Madding Crowd”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Autumn Sunset
Take a walk in the field
Some beautiful visitors stop by
sunset in the snow
Spring visitors next door!
I can see a rainbow!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
OthmanAlm...
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Far from the Madding Crowd”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Far Boathouse as its name suggests, is far from any other boathouse or holiday rental in the high standard, serene and superb location it provides. Close enough to the main road yet secluded enough to allow for privacy and focus on the beauty the area offers; spectacular views from everywhere, a private lake shore, and plenty of beautiful fields to walk around the boathouse. I have no problem not leaving the boathouse at all:)

The amenities exceed expectations. The furniture is posh and class. The kitchen is very practical and very well equipped and stocked with more than one can expects in a holiday home; simply generous. The decorations and interior design are chic.

What makes everything in and around the Boathouse special is the spirit with which Jayne does everything. From the moment of booking confirmation till arrival, we felt taken care of and we were. We were warmly and generously welcomed with flowers, chocolate, biscuits, drinks, and a surprise hamper filled with local goodies to take home with us.

I strongly recommend the Far Boathouse and will definitely come back again
Best

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, design, furniture, amenties
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for this lovely review and that is the perfect title for The Far Boathouse! I do try and make every guest feel special as it is such a special place and I feel very privileged to be able to share it with others. Everyone who helped and worked to get the boathouse back to it's glory really put their hearts into everything they did and I will share your lovely comments with them all. i do hope you will come and stay again.
Jayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hscott26
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AMAZING .. AMAZING .. AMAZING”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Wonderful property and very helpful owner. Simply stunning and we will return time and time again. There was even a hot tub that we used which wasn't advertised so an unexpected treat.

Lovely welcome gifts too
thank you Jayne

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan and balcony with folding doors right on to the lake
Liked least: Nothing everything was amazing
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Belated thanks for your lovely review and we are up and running again following the floods in December and The Far Boathouse is just as good if not better than before. The hot tub is no longer there but an added bonus is a style into the field next door so that you can enjoy a lovely stroll along the shore!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteratIn...
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The first time I've been so impressed that I've taken the time to write a review”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Some places don't live up to expectations - then occasionally, there are others which do, and more. We expected the boathouse to be good - it was superb. Quiet, romantic, secluded, When the sun shone it was magical. In the rain it had character. When it was misty it was spooky and fun. When the moon shone over the lake at night it was the ultimate in romantic.
You get the idea - one of the most enjoyable venues we've ever stayed in - delightful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Incredible location
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review and I am so pleased you had a wonderful time - I guess there was a range of weathers to experience but along side them some wonderful views and nature to see.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The perfect end to an idyllic trip”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Taking a single night reservation was not normally something Jayne was able to do but after I explained that this would be the last night on a surprise engagement trip, and with this being the only night available, she was more than happy to oblige.

The special treatment didn't stop their either. After arriving early and deciding to identify the location of the Boathouse before heading off for lunch, we found Jayne checking up on the cleaning staff to ensure everything was perfect. She'd even left us Champagne to toast our recent engagement and the roses were beautiful.

The Boathouse itself is a dream. A lack of WiFi provides a welcome escape from a constant flow of emails whilst the well appointed kitchen and living space make life very comfortable.... And then there's the view! Enjoy the sailing boats flitting backwards and forwards during the day then watch from the terrace as the water calms to a mirror like state in the evening with just a swan or two for company.

When choosing a boathouse in Ullswater (or the Lakes for that matter) this is the one to go for. That other boathouse you're likely considering is nowhere near as secluded and the view onto the lake is only from the bedroom ;-)

We look forward to escaping here again after the wedding!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from the living room
Liked least: Nothing - it was all perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review and I am so pleased that you had a wonderful time with special memories. The views are simply wonderful and it is always a pleasure to go there! It would be wonderful if you came back and had more time to spend as there is so much to do locally. Thank you once again
Best Wishes
Jayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect, Life Long Memories Created at the Far Boathouse”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is without doubt the best place I have stayed, anywhere in the world, ever! I chose this as the place to propose to my girlfriend (thankfully she said yes, no doubt the decision was helped by the beauty of the venue! It was an absolutely perfect setting for what will be one of the most memorable days in both our lives. The owner, Jayne, is one of the most kind and helpful people I have ever come across. She made sure everything was ready for us with Champagne, Chocolates and Flowers on arrival and was always willing to go that extra mile.

The accommodation itself is styled sympathetically of the surroundings, decorated very tastefully with all the modern touches for comfort; spotlessly clean and offers endless comfort. It is a spacious property with stunning mountain/lake views from the living room and large deck area. The location is ideal (and as far as I found, makes it an almost unique holiday property in the Lake District); down a quiet track on the lake with the only noise to be heard coming from sheep in a nearby field- my idea of paradise and what makes this place the best I have ever stayed at, or even seen for that matter.

The only downside is that you have go to go home at the end of your stay! Definitely plan to come back here one day but wish I could stay there for all of time! Thank you so much Jayne for making this such a special stay for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Having to go home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review and I am so pleased that you had a wonderful stay. I do try my best to make sure everything is just right and always try and cater for individual needs and occasions. It is such a pleasure to be able to share this beautiful boathouse with others.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing