We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best holiday accommodation and location ever !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wythburn Cottage

Wythburn Cottage is a Grade II listed 3 BR (ensuite) sandstone barn located near the Lake District
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wythburn Cottage is a Grade II listed 3 BR (ensuite) sandstone barn located near the Lake District
The view across the orchard to the cottage. Wythburn has a gated & sandstone walled lawn garden. Wythburn's private front terrace overlooks an old orchard garden w/teak garden furniture & Weber BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Wythburn Cottage is a Grade II listed 3 BR (ensuite) sandstone barn located near the Lake District
The view across the orchard to the cottage. Wythburn has a gated & sandstone walled lawn garden.
Wythburn's private front terrace overlooks an old orchard garden w/teak garden furniture & Weber BBQ
The antique kitchen table at Wythburn with the kitchen doors opening to a second sandstone terrace
Another view towards the hand built oak open staircase leading to the first floor sitting room
The open plan kitchen is equipped with stainless steel appliances including an American F/F
A massive breakfasting kitchen with Brittania range cooker, dishwasher and granite counter tops
Wythburn's cathedral ceilinged first floor reception with a cast iron stove
A view through the first floor reception room to the Master Bedroom suite adjoining this.
The Blencathra Room - the first floor master bedroom ensuite with a separate shower & cast iron
A quiet corner for relaxation in the Master Bedroom at Wythburn Cottage
The Blencathra Room ensuite bathroom with a cast iron bath and separate shower
The Skiddaw Suite on the ground floor with a five foot bed and ensuite bath and shower room
The Skiddaw Suite ensuite bathroom with a cast iron bath and separate shower
The Hellvellyn Room, ensuite with beds that can be arranged as a six foot or two single beds
The Hellvellyn Room is on the ground floor with an ensuite bathroom.
Wythburn Cottage - Access Statements available on our website The Rowley Estates
The rear terrace at Wythburn Cottage
The beautiful view over the orchard at the rear of Wythburn cottage
Wythburn Cottage is set within the grounds of Blencowe Hall.
A side view of Grade I listed Blencowe Hall
An aerial view of Wythburn and Blaine Cottage, as well as the garden
Aira Force on the side of Ullswater owned by The National Trust and is great for walking
Lady Wakefield
Ullswater Steamer leaving Howtown
Sailing on Ullswater
The Lady of The Lake on Ullswater
The Lady of the Lake
Summit of Hallin Fell overlooking Ullswater
Aerial view of Ullswater
View over the Lake & Fells
Sunset over Ullswater
Ullswater in Spring
Ullswater in Winter
Golfing in the local area
Quad biking at Rookin House
Fishing on the River Eden
Discover the market town of Penrith
Penrith at Christmas
Winter Droving in Penrith
Rheged a Lake District attraction with family activities, shopping, cafes, cinema and exhibitions.
Hutton Hall in the Forrest, Stately Home & Gardens
Lowther Castle, well worth visiting this historic castle which is undergoing major renovation
The Lost Castle adventure playground at Lowther Castle
The Lost Castle adventure playground at Lowther Castle
Upfront Gallery, Coffee Shop & Puppet Theatre
Lacy's Caves on the River Eden
Lacy's Caves - great walk by the River Eden
Long Meg & Her Daughters Stone Circle at Little Salkeld
Keswick in the NationalPark
Derwent Wateat Keswickr
Derwent Water
Theatre by the Lake at Keswick - award winning theatre in a beautiful location
Discover Grasmere
Grasmere well worth a visit
Famous Gingerbread shop in Grasmere
Grasmere
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Allison B
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best holiday accommodation and location ever !”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Wythburn cottage is a beautiful place, the conversion has been done so well. It's cosy, full of character and was left very clean for our stay. The welcome hamper was very thoughtful and much appreciated. The boot and shoe (as recommended) is a lovely old local pub with good quality pub food. Even though weather was changeable, we managed to do a few great hikes - Cat bells/derwent water, bassenthwaite, buttermere, would thoroughly recommend this cottage as a lovely base for a walking holiday. Wood burning fire so lovely after a full days hiking ! :-))

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design of the cottage, kitchen/dining area very family friendly. Lovely fire.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2016
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Wythburn Cottage and thank you for your kind comments they are very much appreciated by us and our team. It sounds like you experienced some great hikes and certainly got out and about in the local area and also managed a trip to our local pub to sample it's delights! Kind regards, Christine, Charles & Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen1749...
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We have just returned from celebrating my husband's 60th Birthday - we had rented all 3 cottages together - Cazenovia Hall, Riverain and Wythburn. We were 14 adults, 5 children and a baby all together. The accommodation in all the rentals is absolutely superb - definitely 5 star - the bedrooms were lovely with very comfortable bed and all had beautiful en-suites too. The kitchens have absolutely everything you need for cooking & celebration drinks & nibbles. Lovely big squishy sofas, rugs and roaring fires with plenty of wood & candles too! (Living room fire in Wythburn is a gas effect fire.) We all loved our stay. It is in the country, so plenty of peace & quiet, but a friendly pub with good food probably about a mile & a half away. We all just wished we had had more time to enjoy it all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly luxury
Liked least: Unfortuantely not interconnecting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2016
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay at Wythburn and cottages for your husband's 60th Birthday celebrations. Thank you also for your kind comments about the cottage they are very much appreciated by all the team. We really do try to think of everything you may need to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible, including the roaring fires which are very welcome in Cumbria. It's great that you were able to get out and about and visit our local pub and sample it's delights!! Thanks again and kind regards, Christine, Charles & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITRAA
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it. Will definitely return.”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in May 2014

This was the first time I had booked a holiday rental and I must say it was perfect. The property is extremely well maintained and was spick and span. The hosts are wonderful. We were to arrive late in the afternoon but due to the May bank holiday traffic we got there by late evening. The owners were extremely understanding and did not create a fuss. This is a gorgeous property, full of character. Loved the location. Far away from the commercial towns.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2016
Hi, Thank you for this review. We are delighted your enjoyed your time at Wythburn Cottage and thank you for your kind comments. We would be very pleased to welcome you back to Wythburn Cottage or any of our other properties at The Rowley Estates. Kind regards Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyRI
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Memorable vacation stay!”
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This was one of the best vacation stays that we had in UK. The cottage is very spacious and very tastefully decorated. We loved the fact that there were books in every room. The kitchen is well equipped and we really appreciated the thoughtfulness of the startup basket. What stood out was the promptness with which the staff handled a problem we faced with water due to the rains. We would highly recommend Blencowe Hall and its cottages to anyone considering Lake District vacation for its excellent location and the thoughtfulness of Christine and her team!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cottage was very tastefully furnished with books including having books for each member of the family
Liked least: That we could not meet any member of the staff during our stay!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2015
Hi thank you very much indeed for taking the time to leave this review following your visit to Wythburn Cottage and for your compliments to Jilly and her team. We are glad that they were able to quickly divert the private water treatment system back to the mains water when the storms during your visit caused some disruption to the normal water flow. We hope to have the chance to welcome you all for a visit another time soon! Thank you again for choosing to come to Wythburn Cottage for your holiday. Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony C
West Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic escape to the beautiful lakes”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a truly wonderful place to stay - Wythburn is a lovely for several reasons - everything has been thought of. The kitchen does not want for anything and you will go a long way to find more comfortable beds. The gallery sitting room has two large "go to sleep" sofas and I am sure it would be lovely and cozy in the winter with the wood-burner going. It is meticulously clean when you arrive and the welcome hamper has lots of delicious goodies. The table out on the patio is nicely sheltered and it is glorious to sit out there in the sun.

The Boot and Shoe in Greystoke is a two minute drive away and there is also a village shop for any essentials. It does not take long to get to Ullswater and it is also easy to get to Keswick as well. No matter what you want from your Lake District holiday, be it walking, cycling or using it as a base to go further afield, you will not be disappointed. We shall definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the beds.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2015
Hi thank you for your review following your stay at Wythburn Cottage. It's great to hear that you enjoyed visiting the Lake District National Park for cycling & hiking. We love the Boot & Shoe also & it is super convenient to have it be either a 5 minute drive or a 20 minute or so walk up the lane from the cottage. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another action packed visit!! Best regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;