We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning location in a real home, for all ages...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bay View House

Bay View - Silverdale
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bay View - Silverdale
BBQ area Driveway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
58 reviews
Bay View - Silverdale
BBQ area
Driveway
Jacuzzi
View from house
The view from the house
Over an acre of house grounds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
11 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PennyD55
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning location in a real home, for all ages, with breathe taking views, at every turn, from inside and outside.”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The house breathed an air of being someone's home rather than just a neat let which lent itself to the Silver Wedding Anniversary plans I'd arranged. I and my husband were able to re-take our wedding vows on the lawn beside the house overlooking the glorious views of the bay bathed in Autumnal sunshine. Our 32 guests were enraptured by both house and especially the grounds, which to young children, and adults alike, were like something from a C S Lewis 'Narnia' book.
The teenagers enjoyed the jacuzzis as much as I and my girlfriends when I had the 'Hen Night' which I couldn't have when we first married. Meanwhile the guys took my husband out for the 'Stag Night' he'd failed to have. As the local pubs are both walking distance no fear of drink driving but torches are a must to get down the drive if it isn't a clear night's sky.
Two lounging areas and two large TVs meant different ages could watch different films at the same time plus whoever decided to pre-record some films was a genius. Our group watched 'Brave' and even the grown men shed a tear or two in between the laughter!!!
Leighton Hall for a Silver 'Tuncheon' {not 'brunch' or lunch but afternoon cream tea at lunch time!!!} was fabulous after we took our wedding vows and if open is worth a visit.
Some past guests have moaned about the pond and things that haven't worked but this is a home and not a hotel plus having things fixed between lets is not easy; skilled workmen being fewer hence the wait can be longer. Both the jacuzzis and all the showers were in full working order when we left. When we arrived, though we failed to mention it, the fridge was 'singing' to us; well it sounded as if 'she' was playing a harp! She was in desperate need of being defrosted and restarted but was quite usable; I quite enjoyed 'her' harmonious noise when we first arrived as it gave the place a magical air. We all hope she's survived and not been replaced as she performed well.
The correspodence with both father, and later the son, was always extremely courteous and helpful.
Helpful hint would be one more large saucepan with lid and a few more mugs; even melamine mugs which are more hardy. I always travel with my own when self-catering hence it didn't matter too much to our group that there were only 17 average sized mugs to use.
Overall BRILLIANT and hope one day to return.
Thank you Jules for letting me rent and use your lovely home as a holiday destination for me and mine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fabulous location overlooking Morcambe bay as the advert described it to be!
Liked least: Having to leave to go home.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patricia...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fabulous - great facilities, location, tons of room for a large party.”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We booked the house to celebrate my Dad's birthday. The age range of the party stretched from 4 to 80 and everyone had a terrfic time. In addition to the spacious and comfortable lounge and games room, there were smaller public rooms to use to take some time out witb a book. The kitchen and dining areas were spacious and very well equipped. The garden was also very pleasant, and we were fortunate that the weather was mild and we were also able to make use of the outdoor space. The table tennis was popular with everyone.

The Jacuzzis were brilliant and I loved the steam generated showers. All of the bedrooms were comfortable and spacious with plenty of storage space. It was a terrific break in a fantastic house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness
Liked least: nothing to say.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanna310
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in December 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Bay View for New Year & can say we were not disappointed. The view from the house is amazing, you couldn't grow tired of looking at it. The house is very spacious and considering there are so many people under one roof, you never feel crowded or cramped. The Sky HD was a hit with the sports lovers in the group and the games room with the children. The large kitchen was also a positive feature to sit & chat even when there was a large group of us in there. All of the bedrooms are lovely & spacious too & the décor is to a high standard as is the whole of the house. The roaring fire also got used by our group. Overall, this property was a hit with everyone in our group from age 2-62! Would definitely stay here again & recommend to anyone looking for a fantastic property which isn't overpriced & ticks all of the boxes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culchethh...
North West
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place, great location”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second stay at Bay View with a large group of friends and we weren't disappointed. It has everything you could want and more. The owner communicates well and is helpful in arranging times. I would fully recommend this house.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulandme...
Banchory, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great holiday, loads of space, good value but could do with a bit of TLC”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed here for the week of 16th - 23rd August 2013 with our extended family including 11 children under 8. We had visited the property after we booked and discovered to our horror a pond in the garden. Having expressed our concern to the leasing agent he bought fencing material for us to fence off the pond on our arrival.

We were delighted that the property is extremely spacious with 4/5 public rooms, so plenty of space to chill out. Almost all bedrooms have en suites which is great and there are 2 dishwashers, 2 kettles, 2 ovens, a large upright freezer and large upright fridge as well as a small fridge in the kitchen.

There are many nooks and crannies to explore in the garden, however there were numerous nettles which we had to hack down, the trampoline had been removed and the tree house was unusable.

The big jacuzzi in the conservatory wasn't working, one kitchen cupboard door was falling off and the salad drawer in the large fridge was badly cracked. With a little TLC all these could be rectified. A previous reviewer had commented on the lack of table tennis balls, but when we arrived that had been rectified.

However having said all that, it was still good value for money with interesting outings within reach, and an excellent play park in the village. All our families would be enthusiastic about a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: stunning views, loads of space, several public rooms
Liked least: nettles, lack of large serving dishes etc. Non-functioning equipment.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing