We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil cosy home from home”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Mandy B
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Tranquil cosy home from home”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Extremely comfortable cottage with everything you need in your home from home. Made special by the warm welcome from Louise and the basket of fresh fruit and veg from her gardens. The homemade biscuits delicious thanks!
A lot of thought has gone into providing everything you could need to enhance your stay - information about what's on, places to visit. A Great location for exploring Yorkshire!
I would have no problem recommending this cottage and hope to be able to revisit in the future!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie B
1 review
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at Horseshoe Cottage over our wedding weekend in June 2015, and the hospitality of Louise helped to make the weekend extra special and memorable. The cottage was very well looked after, and the finishing touches such as the fresh flowers and sweet treats made it feel like home.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonSut
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at both Horseshoe and Bay Tree Cottages over the Christmas period, whilst on a trip back to the UK to visit family and friends in the area. The welcome from Louise was exceptional and the standards in both properties were well above expectations. Everything had been thought of - even to a Christmas tree and decorations - and there was everything you could possibly need - a real home from home. We also rented the adjacent function room - a converted barn - for a family dinner party party which was also a delightful room with ample space and log fires for our get together. Overall highly recommended and we wouldn't hesitate to return - John & Julie (Dubai expats).

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weehinny0...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fabulous, comfortable and so very welcoming.”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

In a frantic state, one week before supposedly moving into our new home we learned our new home would not be ready for us to move in to on said date I phoned Lousie Martin after reading reviews of her cottages here on Trip Advisor. The response was very warm and extremely positive. It was around Christmas when everyone is so busy but Louise Martin was not phased by such a late and immediate enquiry. The booking was smooth and without a hitch and very much put our minds at ease. On arrival there was cookies, milk and a very lovely bowl of fruit. A lfolder with very good information was left along with fantastic tourist information for the area. The cottage was warm and welcoming and very well appointed. It was just sheer luxury after weeks of packing up a house and arriving feeling frazzled at the edges. We were comfortable and just enjoyed every moment of being there. Louise was away but on her return made a point of coming to meet us. She is delightful; lovely to deal with and so engaing. Horseshoe cottage is just the place for chilling out - near enough the city (Hull) to have a day there but also fabulous country walks too. It is exceptionally quiet - again just right for an away from it all holiday. Good internet but on our network we struggled with our mobile connection (but who really needs it on a chill-out?). I heartily recommend this property and the owners. It was a delightful place to recharge our batteries. Thank you Louise.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the comfort of the cottage
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zodblob
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top notch. Spacious clean and welcoming. Personal touches too.”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Lovely cottage in a beautiful location. Clean and welcoming. Tastefully furnished. Host Louise a mine of local information. Plus personal touches like fresh flowers fruit and vegetables from her garden and books by the bedside. And home made jam! Definitely going again

Date of stay: October 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.