We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certain staff need speaking to.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel Hull
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here a few weeks back with my girlfriend for a weekend break, been here years ago when it was Mercure, its much worse now! Walked into a busy lounge with live music playing which was nice, bar staff were great, Luke was really nice behind the bar after we had a drink we went to check in with Meg at reception who was really nice and explained everything to us, after we settled into our room we ordered room service, after about 15 minutes it had arrived, food was really nice.

The next morning we went down for breakfast around 8am to be greeted nicely by a young girl who had blonde hair,(couldnt get her name), who explained everything to us and brought our hot drinks out right away. Food was nice and the young male chef greeted us behind the buffet, as i went to sit down a older woman came out of the kitchen coughing like mad,not a good look for the hotel!
Had a chilled day enjoying the City of culture and had food in the restaurant which was really nice and reasonable prices, the beds were really comfy and we had a good sleep both nights.

Went down for breakfast on our last day which was a Sunday, breakfast was busy which the staff told us but they were doing there best to set tables it was a shame to see a young man with glasses i think he was called masoode messing around behind the counter and wasn't helping out the other staff, breakfast food was nice with a range of different food, shame some staff let them down.

Overall we had a good time in the city of culture and the food was nice so hats off to the chef, I don't know if i would return but we had a good stay in our rooms

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JamesLaire24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I were allocated a Club Double Room, which from the picture on the hotels web site looks very nice.
We were allocated a single room with a three quarter bed pushed up against the wall in front of a single headboard.
When I enquired at Reception when this room had been re-categorised from a single room I was advised that this was as soon as Britannia Hotels took over from the Accor Group.
The squeezing in of a three quarter bed does not make a single room suitable for double allocation.
Avoid this hotel

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank samtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location is the key aspect here ... this is the Station Hotel (you may enter from the Concourse) so convenient for Rail travellers and well located for the City centre.

Rooms can be small, and there could be an issue with noise from the Station in rooms at the back.

Perhaps an aura of faded Grandeur but still spacious and generally comfortable ... the air-conditioning no longer functions, you are provided with an electric fan !

Parking (separate from the Station car park) is open parking around the Hotel, but no problems with availability or other issues.

Recommended for business or a City Break ...

The Tourist Information centre (in the Station Concourse) is very helpful !

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be noisy ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RabbitRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a small group of school friends we hold an annual September reunion. This year we chose Hull as it is the UK City of Culture.

The first impression of the hotel was not good as when we arrived some of our rooms had been cancelled. We had cancelled one room out of 5 but unfortunately someone in the central booking office had cancelled 4 of them in error. I did request a confirmation of this cancellation but was told they didn't email cancellations and gave me a cancellation number only. This was soon rectified by the hotel staff and were we upgraded.

The hotel is large but well appointed and the rooms comfortable. I had a problem with mine as other guests seemed to think it acceptable to bang their room doors closed at any time day or night. Again the staff at reception were very helpful and I was moved to a room on the front. Here there was traffic noise but nothing as disturbing as banging doors.

The breakfast was very good with a great choice and never a shortage of anything, we ate in the restaurant one evening when we held our "reunion dinner". The staff were wonderful and accommodated everything we needed even a room to hold our annual quiz in.

We enjoyed our trip to Hull and could recommend The Royal as a great central place in which to stay.

The staff made all the difference.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front have good double glazing which cut down the traffic noise and have good views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank junefoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed overnight as we visiting family. Room was the other end of the hotel so no lift, had to carry our own luggage. Hallway carpets were thread bare in places & liquid had stained the carpet.
Room was adequate but due to having the window open, very noisy early hours from people going home.
Sorry Hull Capitol of Culture, this hotel needs to relook at it's self.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.2 km away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
823 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#3 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
895 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
631 reviews
0.5 km away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#6 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
494 reviews
4.8 km away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#4 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel Hull? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel Hull

Address: 170 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 3UF, England (Formerly Royal Hotel Hull)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range: ₹ 3,009 - ₹ 8,425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel Hull 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hull Royal Hotel is ideally located in the City Centre, adjacent to the Railway Station. The Hotel is next to the St Stephens Shopping complex and the Hull Truck Theatre. Close to Hull's historic Old Town Centre and The Deep Aquarium, everything is just a few minutes walk away. The hotel offers free WiFi throughout and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel Hull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kingston Upon Hull
Quality Hotel Kingston Upon Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing