We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Hull(Kingston-upon-Hull)(Great Value!)
US$ 42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Dorchester Hotel(Kingston-upon-Hull)
US$ 92
US$ 33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 91
US$ 78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cornmill Hotel(Kingston-upon-Hull)
US$ 53
US$ 48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Campanile Hull - City Center(Kingston-upon-Hull)
US$ 38
US$ 36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Carlton Hotel(Kingston-upon-Hull)
US$ 45
Orbitz.com
View Deal
The Cross Keys Hotel(Kingston-upon-Hull)(Great Value!)
US$ 66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral of the Humber Wetherspoon(Kingston-upon-Hull)(Great Value!)
US$ 51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Acorn Guest House(Kingston-upon-Hull)
US$ 106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,461)
Filter reviews
1,461 results
Traveller rating
406
504
297
161
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
504
297
161
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationall inclusive dealqueen victorianational holidayscoach tripevening mealfree parkingcentral locationbuffet breakfastthird floorbit datedtea and coffeesaturday nightweekend breaktwin roomstayed here for one nightexcellent value for money
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 1,461 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

My wife and I were allocated a Club Double Room, which from the picture on the hotels web site looks very nice.
We were allocated a single room with a three quarter bed pushed up against the wall in front of a single headboard.
When I enquired at Reception when this room had been re-categorised from a single room I was advised that this was as soon as Britannia Hotels took over from the Accor Group.
The squeezing in of a three quarter bed does not make a single room suitable for double allocation.
Avoid this hotel

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Location is the key aspect here ... this is the Station Hotel (you may enter from the Concourse) so convenient for Rail travellers and well located for the City centre.

Rooms can be small, and there could be an issue with noise from the Station in rooms at the back.

Perhaps an aura of faded Grandeur but still spacious and generally comfortable ... the air-conditioning no longer functions, you are provided with an electric fan !

Parking (separate from the Station car park) is open parking around the Hotel, but no problems with availability or other issues.

Recommended for business or a City Break ...

The Tourist Information centre (in the Station Concourse) is very helpful !

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be noisy ...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RabbitRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

As a small group of school friends we hold an annual September reunion. This year we chose Hull as it is the UK City of Culture.

The first impression of the hotel was not good as when we arrived some of our rooms had been cancelled. We had cancelled one room out of 5 but unfortunately someone in the central booking office had cancelled 4 of them in error. I did request a confirmation of this cancellation but was told they didn't email cancellations and gave me a cancellation number only. This was soon rectified by the hotel staff and were we upgraded.

The hotel is large but well appointed and the rooms comfortable. I had a problem with mine as other guests seemed to think it acceptable to bang their room doors closed at any time day or night. Again the staff at reception were very helpful and I was moved to a room on the front. Here there was traffic noise but nothing as disturbing as banging doors.

The breakfast was very good with a great choice and never a shortage of anything, we ate in the restaurant one evening when we held our "reunion dinner". The staff were wonderful and accommodated everything we needed even a room to hold our annual quiz in.

We enjoyed our trip to Hull and could recommend The Royal as a great central place in which to stay.

The staff made all the difference.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front have good double glazing which cut down the traffic noise and have good views.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank junefoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed overnight as we visiting family. Room was the other end of the hotel so no lift, had to carry our own luggage. Hallway carpets were thread bare in places & liquid had stained the carpet.
Room was adequate but due to having the window open, very noisy early hours from people going home.
Sorry Hull Capitol of Culture, this hotel needs to relook at it's self.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Very handy situated at the Railway station, Car parking is paid at the hotel if staying there £5 for 24hrs and is registered at reception,

We had taken the evening meal and breakfast option and the evening we both had Mussels and Frites and they were of a very good size and delicious.
The Breakfast was very good and off a hot buffet,

We had a double room, with a full size double bed, a tight squeeze on my side of the bed.
We are going back in November for a Conference for two days, reckon we will be going for a bigger room if possible.

Room Tip: This hotel is at the main railway station
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews