We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW - What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Whittington and Cat Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“WOW - What a find!”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I read the Trip Advisor reviews before I booked at the Whittington and Cat and was very happy with my choice. When I arrived however, I have to say that my heart sank as I drove round the roundabout approaching the Inn. From the road it did not look very promising! Located by a big road and nestling next to a retail park. Undaunted I went in (having parked in the retail park!) and was met by a cheery smile and a very warm welcome.

It transpired that due to booking issues, I had been upgraded and was to stay in what was called the apartment. So climbing to the second floor I was shown round a fantastic room with a full size kitchen off he lounge, a large leather sofa and a huge LCD TV. In the bedroom a large and very comfortable double bed and a nicely appointed shower room.

As a previous reviewer has said, breakfast is cereals and fruit along with tea and coffee, but this is fine.

This is a fantastic little B&B / Inn and I really can't recommend it highly enough. As and when I am back in Hull, I will certainly stay here again. Try it, it's good value and a super place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobmonk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    35
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
13
41
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

- 5 mins walk from the train station
- Lovely rooms
- Great, friendly service
- Wonderful Fish & Chips
- Fantastic value

If you have to be in Hull, stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_Kelly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Great staff, friendly atmosphere. If you like a full english breakfast this b&b won't suit you as its help yourself to cereals, juice, and tea or coffee. Food excellent Steak pie to die for gravy as well.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nannapat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

I have a lot in common with the previous reviewer in that found this lovely pub trying to avoid the big chains in town. I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly and stayed in the Black & White room. It was nicely laid out and the large wall mounted LCD TV was great.

I had a great night's sleep but the edge was taken off the stay with an underpowered shower and the 'continental breakfast' which boiled down to help yourself to orange juice, cereal and milk from the fridge in the corridor and eat it in your room.

When I stay away I have very long days and look forward to a cooked breakfast or at least a 'proper' continental breakfast with toast, pastries, yoghurts, meats etc.

I still believe this is a place worth staying, but not the bargain I thought I'd found given the breakfast provision.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrogDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Found this hotel when searching for somewhere to stay for an evening in Hull. I try to avoid the big chains where possible but occasionally it's the easiest bet. I'm very glad to have found this hotel this time!

The hotel is an old Victorian pub and from the outside looks like a typical pub but on the inside is clean and modernised. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated. We stayed in the Black & White room (each room has a theme).

For the money we paid it was great and will definitely stay again. The only downsides were the uncomfy bed (for me, my partner slept fine) and the bathroom wasn't as clean as it could be - neither bad enough to say anything though! But the location, friendliness of staff and it not being a chain makes up for this! Also considering it is above a pub it was very quiet.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlytravelpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.3 km away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
764 reviews
0.5 km away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,233 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
575 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
636 reviews
1.0 km away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whittington and Cat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whittington and Cat Hotel

Property: The Whittington and Cat Hotel
Address: Commercial Road, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,974 - ₹ 6,783
Hotel Class:4 star — The Whittington and Cat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star sliver hotel above a modern city pub. The Whittington & Cat provides a range of different hotel rooms, from single suits, luxury doubles and apartments. Only a 5 min walk from the train station and the centre of hull. We are located a 2 min walk from Hull Ice Arena. We are a family run business and have been described as a hidden gem in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Whittington and Cat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing