We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Cosy and friendly”
Review of Danehurst House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Danehurst House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Cosy and friendly”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed here to attend a wedding reception in Tunbridge Wells. Unlike others, I felt it was near enough to the town centre and cost only £6 to get a taxi from the station to the B&B.
To make the most of our stay I requested an early check in which the hosts were more than happy to accomodate and upon arrival we were welcomed with a friendly smile and given all the info. The room was really lovely (Lilac room) and the bed so comfortable. I loved the extra of the dressing gown and slippers - it made it feel more hotel-like. The bathroom was well stocked with supplies you may be likely to forget which I thought was great.
We asked the hosts to book us a taxi into town later that evening but were told it would be no bother for them to drop us off there, which was so so kind and really set the tone for the hospitality.
The lounge area was very comfortable and cosy and I could have stayed and lounged in there all day. Breakfast was delicious and we were impressed that nearly everything served was homemade and local.
I would definitely go here again, for a special occassion though.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 51Naomi51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
96
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We failed to get a family room in the Spa Hotel Tunbridge Wells, and Angela sorted out the equivalent for us with no fuss. In many ways the standard was higher. This is a superbly run private hotel, with spotless cleanliness, impeccable furnishings, comfortable, quiet rooms, and excellent brerakfast, cooked to our requirements, with the best of local produce. Nice area, easy parking. Impressive coy carp. The only criticism was slight lack of space and surfaces. One of the best run B&Bs we have ever stayed at. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDMcFarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Following the glowing recommendations on Tripadvisor we stayed one night at Danehurst. We were not disappointed. As they were not full Angela kindly upgraded our room, and that was the start of an absolutely first-class experience. The rooms are extremely comfortable, absolutely spotless, and every conceivable need catered for. The breakfast is delicious. The quality of the ingredients, cooked to perfection and beautifully presented is a wonderful start to the day, and the conservatory where breakfast is served is wonderfully light and airy. We just wished we had more room for Angela's home=baked bread. We were made to feel very welcome and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

So - why does Danehurst come an absolute first?
Well, I'll try to tell of what went so well....

First the comfort and care, served with warmth which is rare;
Feather soft sleep - in beds sunk so deep;

Individual attention (eggs done to perfection!)
Smiles and sweets and breakfast fruit treats.....

All this enclosed in a decor so classy -
With a hostess so charming and so kind of sassy!


.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Poppy Room which has extremely comfortable twin beds - gorgeous decor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Danehurst is an absolutely recommendable accomodation, perfectly organised and run by Angela and Michael. It is situated at a good driving distance from Royal Tunbridge Wells and leaves nothing amiss.
There are slippers and gowns for the guests. The bathrooms are modern and ours had a high-tech shower which was gorgeous. The room was beautiful and so quiet we could leave all windows open at night. Parking is possible in the house's own yard and there is room for 5 cars. Breakfast is served in the conservatory and Angela really cares for her guests and makes sure they have everything they need.
There is a guest lounge with internet access, a bar and a library, and there is a koi pond in the garden.
Danehurst is an excellent place to relax and enjoy. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
1.3 km away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
670 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
858 reviews
2.3 km away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
2.2 km away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#5 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
274 reviews
1.6 km away
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
#13 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danehurst House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danehurst House

Property: Danehurst House
Address: 41 Lower Green Road | Rusthall, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,072 - ₹ 13,766
Hotel Class:5 star — Danehurst House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Danehurst House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danehurst House Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing