We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cellar Bar Visit ”

Blakes of Dover Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 185 Restaurants in Dover
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 21
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: hotel,Bistro also down stairs cellar bar with selection of ales and ciders and a selection of malt whisky's
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The cellar bar was great, welcoming staff and a great selection of local ales and ciders. Will hopefully be making return trips in the coming weeks.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank DarrellllerraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Well worth going to but don’t be put off by first impressions from outside “if” it looks quiet upstairs. Go downstairs to the main pub/restaurant and bar.
Nice atmosphere and character. No chain gastro or plastic pub feel.

Food is great and a good price.
Great variety of choice and portion sizes. Service efficient and friendly.
Large outside beer garden area too.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank X6735ZZmarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Been to blakes cellar bar a few times for food and just for drinks, always a good atmosphere with great selection of drinks and food and very friendly staff, good for a romantic night out or a chilled evening with good live music at the weekend

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Kevin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic food! They serve peaky blinders gin which I loved. Loved it that much I had to go two weeks in a row. I would go away if i wasn’t away. I had an amazing steak and then last week I had a steak baguette and chips. Love the gentleman at the bar who was telling me about Irish whiskeys. I absolutely love it. I can’t wait to get back

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank zion636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

We were staying in the area and came across this lovely little place. It was pretty quiet (probably due to the weather) but still a nice cosy atmosphere. Nice background music playing and a definite ‘living room’ feeling to the restaurant area which makes you feel at home. The food was reasonably priced and the portions were pretty large. We had the stroganoff which was so good!

The toilets are through the bar downstairs which is definitely interesting, with drinks mats lining the walls and various currencies hanging from the beams on the ceiling. It has a definite local pub feeling. The only member of staff we saw was friendly and polite and let us know of the music and open mine nights they have there should we return during the week.

Overall lovely meal with nice atmosphere.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blakes of Dover Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Blakes of Dover Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing