We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't believe the ratings this is number 1 in Dover”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
East Lee Guest House
Ranked #5 of 41 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Don't believe the ratings this is number 1 in Dover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We recently went to Dover for the day and decided at the last moment to find a bed and breakfast. We don't stay any where without consulting Trip Advisor so out came the iPhone. We called number1 and 2 but 1 is out of town and 2 was full. We then went to number 4 and were not inpressed so we tried number 5 found the jewel of Dover. The house was beautiful, breakfast was fantastic and the hosts were wonderful. If you want a B&B in Dover this is a must, but please leave a room for us as we will be back.

Room Tip: We looked at several rooms and they were all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoubleC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
98
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Last year I walked past this guest house and wished I'd stayed there. This year I got my wish. The house is styled to match its history with period furnishings and decor. The beds have extra deep mattresses and provide a good night's sleep. The breakfast china is actually Limoges porcelain. My husband had the fruit platter for breakfast and it had fresh pineapple, kiwi, two varieties of grapes, two types of melon and strawberries. He was expecting boring apple, orange and banana so was pleasantly surprised. I had a special breakfast that wasn't even on the menu, when I'd only requested a small variation on the vegetarian option. Although there was a charge for WiFi we got it free. The other guests were a team of tour reps on their way to join groups travelling across Europe, so they obviously know a good place to stay. The house is 2 mins walk from the bus station and we used our passes to explore the coast, which we think is overlooked by all the people rushing for the cruise ships.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burneside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night while visiting Dover Castle, and we had no shortage of compliments to pay to the hosts when we left.

The rooms are lovely, quiet, spacious, and clean. My husband can be a light sleeper, but even he had no problem sleeping in our room. I can't say anything about there being or not being an internet connection though as we didn't bring a laptop on this trip.

When we arrived, we were asked for our breakfast preferences and when we came downstairs in the morning, the owners went over everything with us. We ended up having a Full English with locally sourced produce that was absolutely delicious and sustained us well beyond even our trip to Dover Castle.

The owners have lived in the area for a long time, know the sights and sounds, and can easily direct any visitors to their preferred points of interest. They even know a lot of the cruise and ferry calls at the dock so people coming across the channel needn't worry. East Lee will take care of you!

Centrally located with good parking, affordable rooms, great food, a lovely atmosphere, and friendly hosts, we'd recommend East Lee to anyone and would would happily visit there again, ourselves!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the house do face the roadway, but we didn't notice any noise or light pol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nantwich
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This guest house is convenient both to the channel tunnel (15 minutes) and the ferry terminal (5) minutes. It is situated in the heart of the town with local amenities within easy walking distance.

We received a very warm welcome from the owners who made space in their garage for our car overnight. The room was immaculately clean and comfortable and although the en-suite bathroom was a little dated it was perfectly adequate for our needs.

A good nights sleep and an excellant breakfast cooked fresh to our order set us up for the channel crossing. We would definitely stay again if we were making another trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grown_up_gappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

I first stayed here 6 years ago with my family and just this week I happened to be back in Dover and again I booked into East Lee.

Well, I was not disappointed to find Patricia and Michael still run the place with the same attention to detail and commitment to making sure their guests feel comfortable and looked after. Our room had a very comfy bed, a spotless ensuite and I was pleased to find a flat screen tv with freeview channels.

Breakfast was delicious, it was one of the widest selections I've seen in a B&B! As a vegetarian I sometimes struggle so I was delighted to have not only a vegetarian sausage with my breakfast but a fresh fruit platter to boot!

All of this and the prices were incredibly reasonable. If your coming through Dover, definitely stay at East Lee. The only problem? If your catching a ferry, you might not want to leave!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarriLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
4.9 km away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.2 km away
Maison Dieu Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Lee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lee Guest House

Property: East Lee Guest House
Address: 108 Maison Dieu Road, Dover CT16 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,818 - ₹ 4,979
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality award winning accommodation in a beautiful Victorian Town House. Walking distance to Town, Banks, Restaurants, Port, Buses, Trains, Dover Castle and various historical attractions. A must for the mores discerning traveller in search of warm personal service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing