We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent property with astounding hosts”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Castle View Dover

Master bed room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bed room
patio off master bed room lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Master bed room
patio off master bed room
lounge
fully equipted kitchen
Private garden
Night view of castle
Entrance Hall
Bathroom
Second Bedroom
Dolphin in Channel
Channel swim escort vessel
Winter at Castle View
Hot Air Ballooning over the White Cliffs
Inquisitive Sea Lion
The Gallion
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dover, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Y B
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent property with astounding hosts”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment rental was everything I expected and more. Pictures and description was totally accurate. The hosts were very accommodating and great to converse with. The view from the place was wonderful. The site of Callais, France & Dover castle were wonderful. Even the day it rained a little posed a beautiful site of a rainbow!
The apartment was very spacious with all the perks anyone would love while out on vacation leaving all worries behind. WiFi was great, toaster, full fridge and range and even a DVD player and Washer, which were HUGE pluses helped with added entertainment (there are even DVD's you can watch if you didnt bring your own).
I could tell that the owners have high standards of cleanliness because the place was spotless.
From the moment I stepped into the place, it is easy to see that lots of work has gone into decorating to make it a place to forget your worries of daily life and to enjoy your time away from home. I absolutely loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and cleanliness of the property
Liked least: I really encountered no problems involving the property
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mollyfied
LIncoln, NE
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most beautiful view in England”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I came to England to swim the channel and left with a treasure much greater thanks to the wonderful people we met here and our fantastic accommodations at Castle View. From the front window, you can see the cliffs of France. Imagine, making a cup of coffee and pulling the blinds to see the blue English Channel and France in the distance to start your day. Absolutely awesome. From the bedroom patio doors, you gaze upon Castle Dover. There isn't a better spot in Dover to have these incredible views!

The apartment itself is ideal for those staying for more than a few days. There is a complete kitchen, in which we made roast chicken, pizza, a fantastic pesto pasta and enjoyed a full English breakfast each morning with eggs, bacon, black pudding and thick toast made from fresh bread. Morrison's grocery store is the best grocery store I've ever seen!

We enjoyed tea on the private back patio, looking over the immaculate lawn and beautiful flower garden with calla lilies, fuchsia and roses. The neighborhood cat, Ginger, stopped by every few evenings to get her snack. She seemed particularly fond of prosciutto.

Mick and Helen are gracious hosts. We try to be self-reliant when staying at a rental flat, but Helen always made sure we had fresh linens and towels whenever needed. Since I was doing a lot of swimming in Dover Harbor, having a washing machine was wonderful! They also were happy to suggest local sights to see and we weren't disappointed. Dover Castle is spectacular, and steeped in history.

My 86-year old mother and 19-year old daughter joined us and felt completely at home in their room with bunk beds and a large wardrobe. We had a great time together, playing cards and watching movies on the big flat-screen TV.

Although my channel swim was not successful, my husband and I WILL come back to Dover to stay at Castle View. It is, by far, one of the BEST accommodations we have ever enjoyed and a great value for all the amenities that are included. Staying in Dover? Castle View is your home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views, spacious rooms, storage, full kitchen
Liked least: It's at the top of a long hill
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zkadams
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Very neatly presented, clean a spacious. The pictures are a true imagine of the holiday let, lovely private garden to enjoy. Owners was very polite and kind, enjoyed our stay, will return if planning to visit Dover again :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadett...
Haneffe
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent stay :) To recommend +++++”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Been to Dover on a weekend break.
The place was spotless, the deco is very nice, makes you feel like "home".
Everything has been thought about (washing machine, dvd player, internet,...)
Perfect place for a perfect stay.
Very close from downtown, really esay to access pubs, shops and buildings (not so easy to come back ;o)
Helen and her husband are very friendly and helpfull.
That was a great weekend in a great place and i would recommand their cottage to whoever will ou would ask me :o))
Would love to go back...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the nice atmosphere in the cottage
Liked least: Nothing really, even if thinking about it very hard
Travelling group: Seul(e)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aine78
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in December 2012

I stayed here with my husband and teenage daughter and can't fault it. It was spotlessly clean, furnished to a high standard and has lovely views. The beds are comfy and the owners are lovely people. I highly recommend Castle View and I will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing