We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy and Lovely cottage with Historical touch”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The GateHouse

The Gate House, grade II listed gothic mini castle build c1850.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gate House, grade II listed gothic mini castle build c1850.
Romantic bedroom with canopied bed. View through to bedroom turret The historic Gate House, Grade II listed. A fantastic holiday cottage for year round breaks.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
The Gate House, grade II listed gothic mini castle build c1850.
Romantic bedroom with canopied bed. View through to bedroom turret
The historic Gate House, Grade II listed. A fantastic holiday cottage for year round breaks.
Romantic canopied bed
Cosy lounge with gas log burner and fully sprung double sofa bed.
The English Channel, taken from Dover seafront. I never get tired of this view. 10 minutes walk away
Well equipped, modern kitchen
View through to bedroom turret with dressing table.
Bathroom with lovely deep bath
Fully equipped kitchen.
Dining area with pull out table seating 4.
The Gate House with original red phonebox outside!
Cosy living room with sofa bed and gas fire
We love old books!
Guest book full of lovely comments from guests who have enjoyed staying in their own mini castle.
Dover Castle, situated just behind the Gate House. 5 minutes walk to the entrance from the cottage.
Stunning Dover Castle in the snow. The GateHouse is the perfect base to explore all year round.
The famous White Cliffs of Dover. A wonderful place for dog walks with stunning scenery and views.
Dover sea sports centre. Offers sailing, canoeing, wind surfing and other sea sports.15 minutes walk
Spotless Dover Esplanade. Such a pretty and tranquil area to wander by the sea.15 minutes walk away
Dover promenade, totally unspoilt seaside. 10 minutes walk from the cottage.
Botany Bay. Beautiful sandy beach 40 minutes drive from the Gate House in Broadstairs.
One of my favourite parts of the gateHouse. Beautiful tapestry hung over the fireplace.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dover, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ali-Jaffa...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy and Lovely cottage with Historical touch”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

One of the best cottages one can ever find. Very cozy and full of history. The cottage comes with carefully selected furniture and a lovely fireplace. Nice and very friendly owners.

Simply, a must stay cottage if you are visiting Dover or Kent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and cleanness
Liked least: Small wardrobe
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2013
We are so pleased you liked the Gate House. We chose the furniture really carefully to enhance the historical experience. We would be very happy to welcome you back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhonpu1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mini castle at steps of dover castle”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Gem of a find. Immaculately kept, was perfect for our requirements. Close to all that dover and kent have to offer, and can be used as a good base to explore the area

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House was a mini castle
Liked least: A bit uphill
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back to the Gate House soon. Best regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the place
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Jun 2013
Many thanks for your kind words Lea. I'm so glad you enjoyed your Christmas at the Gate House and hope we can welcome you back sometime very soon. Best regards, Michelle.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JTHahn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2015
I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your holiday.
If you had problems with the cleanliness it really would have been preferable if you had contacted me at the outset of your stay to give me the chance to rectify this, however, the first time you brought it to my attention was when you emailed to say you were leaving early due to illness. I am so sad to hear this as the cottage guest book is filled with compliments about the cleanliness of the cottage.
As explained clearly in the description on Holiday Lettings website, this is a Grade II listed building built in 1850. I realise you dispute my reasons for not being able to make the building completely draft free and also being unable to replaster the inside, however,in the UK if a building is listed in this way there are extensive laws governing the changes you are allowed to make to a property, though extensive roof work was carried out in 2013. I would think it inevitable that a building of such age would have the odd draft, however, the heating system is very effective and the gas fire in the living room provides additional cosiness.
Once again, I am sorry that your experience of staying at the Gate House did not match up to that of other guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing