We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loddington House
Nearby Hotels
Ramada Dover(Whitfield)
US$ 121
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 114
US$ 105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Cliffs Hotel(St Margaret's at Cliffe)
US$ 169
US$ 146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
75
40
23
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
40
23
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorold housewhite cliffsdover castlebowl of fruittraditional englishan americanferry terminalcontinental or full englishtwin roomroom wasn't readyfloor boardsstreet parkingbeds were comfortablebreakfast was deliciousa bit tiredcruise ship
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed here two days prior to a cruise. As noted by previous reviewers, Robert, the owner makes this place. He's your reservationist, greeter, porter, concierge and waiter, and you're his most important guest. The hotel is a nicely maintained 1800's row house right on the Channel waterfront with Dover Castle directly behind. The public areas retain their historic features, with a pretty dining room on the ground floor and a comfortable lounge on the 1st floor overlooking the sea. The bedrooms are plain, but impeccably clean as is the rest of the house. We enjoyed walking along the sea wall above the pebble beach, which connects to the downtown pedestrian area, restaurants and shops. You'll get your aerobic exercise walking up to Dover Castle for some nice views and history, and its only a short walk to the ferry terminal and a short cab ride to the cruise terminal. We'd go again in a minute...a great value!

Room Tip: Rooms in front overlook the sea and 4 lane road that services ferry port. Quieter in back, but view is base of Dover Cliffs.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank JimsBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed there on our way on the way to a HA cruise in August. Location was great as is close to down town and Dover Castle. Our bedroom window looked out onto the wartime caves so was quieter than if we were in the front with the traffic. Robert was a great host with lots of info on where to go in Dover, and the day of our cruise while waiting for taxi pick up I got an email that had 12 pages that needed printing and he helped me out no questions asked. Thanks Rob. The only minor thing was in the Pink Room the bed was a little saggy in the middle which gave me a sore back (I have back issues so beds are important to me), other than that great place and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank deigo762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We usually stay in chain hotels before sailing to France but ridiculously high prices this year made us look at B&B's and I'm glad we did. The location of Loddington House is perfect and the rooms were great. Robert was a good host and I'm sorry we left too early for breakfast as it sounded very good. I was worried about parking but Robert assured us that we would have a space and we did. i have to say that I was fussing a little bit as there would have been plenty of parking on the street overnight and it looked just as safe. Rooms were clean and comfortable and, as two families, it was nice to have a guest lounge in which to meet. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KathleenBridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We arrived and were met by Robert. Very charming and friendly! We seem to always get the room on the third floor and are quite happy with stairs. We requested the room facing the cliffs and the sound of gulls made us feel right at home in the mornings.
We chose a light breakfast option, while the table next to us chose the full English breakfast. Our fruit with yogurt was fresh cut and very tasty. Our tea and juice were waiting for us when we came down and the toast and croissants arrived shortly there after. Roger declared the croissants were the best we had had on our trip!
The location was great. A ten minute walk from the ferry, about the same to the town and the beach, 15 minutes up to the castle and just a bit more to the train station. Great for those like us who are on foot. If you follow the road away from town you are right away heading up onto the White Cliffs of Dover. We walked the first night, but had to turn back as it started to get dark. The next day we set out earlier and walked to just past the lighthouse. A wonderful walk along trails, past fields, and by the horses who graze on the land.
We were directed to the White Horse for our first pub meal. It had great food and character, the walls are inscribed with the times of people who have swum the channel. We also checked out Castle fish and chips. The fish and chips were great, but the chips were even better at the pub.
So if you want character, if you want location, if you want to stay someplace that makes you smile stay here. (Hey Robert I had a couple more questions……)

Room Tip: Book facing the cliffs. Bring earplugs if the gulls might bother you.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mari Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

a lovely grade 2 listed building full of character with a really engaging host, Robert.Parking was available at the front of the hotel and we stayed for 2 nights ,different rooms both nights ( due to us wishing to stay a 2nd night).Both rooms are very nice but a cliff view room will result in a wake up call from the gulls, which is not a bad thing. Breakfast was very nice with ample to eat and unlimited tea or coffee. The 1st floor of the hotel has a really nice relaxing lounge which benefits from glorious sea views. Also this hotel is less than 2 mins walk from the ferry terminal.

Room Tip: I recommend the Pink Room at the front
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peteboeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews