We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, would definitely re-visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alkham Court Farmhouse
Ranked #4 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent, would definitely re-visit”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Wonderful warm welcome with afternoon tea in the beautiful 'oak' room. The 'Badger' room was very comfortable and well equipped. Excellent variety and choice for delicious breakfasts. Wendy and Neil were exceptional hosts. Loved the hot tub and views across the countryside. We wanted a relaxing break and we certainly got one.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Badger' room is upstairs but my husband has stayed in the other 2 rooms wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZandES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
99
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed for the weekend in September 2011 for a wedding & to see a few of the Dover sights.

Our room was absolutely lovely with great views over the farm. I especially liked the little decanter of port left each evening - it was very welcome when we arrived late on a wet & windy night.

The breakfasts were lovely & the hosts couldn't do enough for you, giving us some much need info when we said we'd planned to do some sight seeing.

We will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet break in some beautiful English countryside.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jczil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Arriving on a dark, wet night, we were welcomed into a warm and beautifully appointed room by the hosts, and it just got better! The views are wonderful and everything has been thought of. This was by far the best place we stayed at in the UK and deserves its rating as best in the area. Dinner was booked for us and directions given, breakfast was outstanding and absolutely delicious and when we brought home some takeaway food, the owner kindly heated it up and served it for us. The room is definitely in the luxury class and everything had been thought of. We would love to stay there in another season, but even in winter there is a beauty to the area. It was close to both Dover and also Ashford International, where we left on the Eurostar. Our train was early, and we were generously provided with a lovely packed breakfast to take. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We loved the views from the attic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptilotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The location is beautiful and not too far from Dover. The rooms are fully equipped and clean and the sauna and hot tub are definitely a value added for an amazingly pleasant stay. We wanted a relaxing break and we made the right choice! Wendy and Neil are very friendly yet very professional in assisting guests. In one word: brilliant! I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Croxley_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Nice place to spend a countryside weekend.Beautifull environment, close to the continent, just hop over the channel and we were on holiday! Very confortable rooms, beautyfull walks in the area recommended bij the nice owners Wendy and Neil.Don't hesite,it is a good choice!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seadust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
7.4 km away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
127 reviews
5.7 km away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
884 reviews
6.7 km away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
7.2 km away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
7.8 km away
Broome Park Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkham Court Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkham Court Farmhouse

Property: Alkham Court Farmhouse
Address: Alkham Court Meggett Lane | South Alkham, Dover CT15 7DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,415 - ₹ 13,331
Hotel Class:5 star — Alkham Court Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alkham Court offers award winning luxury farmhouse accommodation overlooking the scenic Alkham Valley with stunning views at Breakfast and glorious sunsets in the evening. Guests have complimentary use of the hot tub and sauna to relax and totally unwind during your stay. Our four guest rooms offer luxury ensuite rooms with kingsize beds and their own individual entrances. Our beautiful location in the Kent countryside gives you a unique and special stay. We are immensely proud to be recognised by Trip Advisor's Excellence Award and their Hall of Fame for 2015/16. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing