We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint & comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Dieu Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maison Dieu Guest House
Ranked #4 of 41 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Quaint & comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Our room at the top was quaint and rather small, but the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was very good indeed and the bacon by far the best we sampled while travelling.
The B&B is well located and not far from the Ferry Port. We were also offed good advice as where to eat in Dover.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwriter2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frenchd, Owner at Maison Dieu Guest House, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for your kind comments - it’s great that you enjoyed your brief stay in Dover and your choice from our Breakfast Menu! The room on 2nd floor is described on all emailed correspondence as ‘Small Standard Twin’ and this is reflected in the price of £59.00 Bed & Breakfast for 2. The room, with 2 single beds, pure wool carpet, quality beds, Dorma soft furnishings and bedding, flat screen TV, Complimentary Beverages Tray and all the little extras that you would expect in a 4 Star Silver Award Guest House has limited space and shower & toilet across small landing – therefore, if for personal comfort a large room or double bed is preferred then one of our Ensuite rooms may be preferable– however, for either a brief stopover or for those on a budget but still wanting a quality accommodation, the Small Standard Twin may be an option worth considering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    19
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
63
77
24
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We booked 1 room here for my in-laws at the very last minute after leaving a b&b that was a disaster and Maison Dieu definitely lived up to all of the glowing reviews on tripadvisor. It was very clean, with nice & new fixtures and decor. Di was so helpful with tourist info, food recommendations and directions. The breakfast was wonderful, hearty and made to order. They could not have been happier with their experience here. Also, a fantastic value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I would suggest this guesthouse. The owners are very helpful and pleasant.. The breakfast room was beautiful. And breakfast was very satisfactory. Very attractive and interesting building

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We booked this B&B last minute after reading the reviews. It certainly lived up to our expectations. Our room was clean, tidy and had everything we needed. Most of all Di did a fantastic job in welcoming us, she has a great attention to detail and make a hearty breakfast (she even caters for veggie folk, hooray!!!). All in all Barry and Di are a great team. We would certainly recommend this B&B.
Smitty and Phil

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smriti N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

If you want home from home this is the place to stay. Comfortable, clean and welcoming.

If I'm town this is where I'll be staying! Thanks for a faultless stopover.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Showbizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
1.0 km away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
2.2 km away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
0.5 km away
Hubert House Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Dieu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Dieu Guest House

Property: Maison Dieu Guest House
Address: 89 Maison Dieu Road, Dover CT16 1RU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,742 - ₹ 6,050
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Dieu Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, welcoming and very comfortable guest rooms are perfect for a stay in Dover! our AA 4 STAR Award Guest Accommodation Kent is offered with genuine English warmth and hospitality. Personal attention, maps and information ensures the very best is made of your stay. We offer Ensuite Family, Double, Twin and Single Guest Rooms and in addition, cosy Twin and Singles for those wanting equally high quality accommodation but at a budget price. Central for shops, restaurants and launderette - providing left luggage facility, free Wi-Fi and parking we are situated just 5 minutes' drive from Dover England ferry & cruise terminals and a few minutes' walk from bus and train stations. With simply stunning coastal scenery and the fabulous Dover Castle - for those with even a little time to spare Dover, in the gorgeous Garden of England County of Kent, offers much to inspire. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison Dieu Guest House Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing