We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
169
145
47
12
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
169
145
47
12
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle roomcar parkriver viewbridal suitewedding receptionmedway riverbanqueting hallrochester castlewet roomroast potatoesfunction roombirthday partyrecommend this hotelhuge bedsit down mealbreakfast was includedbar area
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Hotel is nice enough, friendly staff remarkable views over the industrial Medway, breakfast a bit late getting going but I am an early riser
However they operate one of those schemes where you register you car at reception.or pay a £100 "parking charge" to dodgy company in Liverpool. I did register my car, but still got hit with the charge, it's clearly a mistake but the hotel are as useful as a chocolate fireguard in getting it removed and the parking company make it almost impossible to speak to them, except to pay of course
If you drive and value your time and sanity, stay elsewhere

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank MarketingRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RS458, Manager at St. George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review the St.George Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very sorry you got a parking ticket whilst staying with us. We are very sorry you received a parking ticket . We do use a private company to monitor our car parks to ensure they are not used by other members of the public so there is ample parking for our guests. We do advise if you receive a parking ticket to appeal and we will be happy to provide evidence of your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Good welcome from staff, room very clean and comfortable with views over the Medway, ideal place for overnight after or before crossing the channel. Also great value although drinks at the bar very expensive. Breakfast was also excellent with a good choice

Room Tip: for us views over the river
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RS458, Manager at St. George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Thank you John for your review of the St.George Hotel, We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

Megan you are a brilliant asset to The George Hotel, we had a very busy fancy dress wedding and I am not sure you quite knew what to expect but neither did we,you were available from start to finish. Your chef done a superb job on the food both day and evening and may I say breakfast was great too, but I must reserve the biggest thanks to the bar staff who not only served us our SAN Frans but also got shot at by nerf guns and to the staff who cleaned up what I can only imagine a very messy hall with balloons and nerf bullets every where. I would recommend the hotel for any kind of function we had so much fun thank you all at the George hotel for making our day so special

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Chrissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RS458, Manager at St. George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Thank you Chrissy for your kind review of the St.George Hotel. It was a pleasure to be part of your big day, we enjoyed all the costumes. I will pass on all your kind reviews regarding Megan and all the bar staff, I'm sure our bar staff enjoyed the Nerf Wars!! We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

We had a great stay at the George - the place is spotless, the views from our room were spectacular (over the Medway River, including working timber wharves and Chatham Historic Dockyard and including Rochester Castle). The breakfasts were of excellent quality, masses of choice and plentiful, lovely breakfast serving people and really excellent cooked breakfasts. Packed breakfast option if you're off early.
The in-room hospitality (tea) tray had fair trade sugar (Yay!) AND hot chocolate - thank you :-)
The bathroom was perfect - fresh, bright and spotless - and the bath super comfy (though not big enough for 2 adults) and there was loads of HOT water. We only got one towel each.
There were a few things we noticed - there were only 2 electrical sockets in the room, away from the bed, so we couldn't charge our 'phones and use them as alarm clocks, and could only charge / use 2 things at once. Also, the curtains were only just bigger than the window and hung away from it - the light flooded all round them and in between as they didn't quite meet. This was fine for us, but f you need dark to sleep, it's not good in summer.
We were there in the week, out of school holidays and there were no events in the function rooms, so our stay was quiet and we really appreciated this after reading other reviews!!
The food in the evening was fine but the bar was quiet, poorly lit (hard to read the menu) and had no atmosphere.
All the staff except the lady who checked us in (who was abrupt and seemed to be doing us a favour) were lovely and had time for us. We were well looked after, and thank the team for that.

Room Tip: The best rooms have a River View. Go for floor 2 or above for the best view. All rooms will be noisy of there is an event on.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

really nice clean hotel and food was really good the staff really pleasant and friendly . The only downside is the hotel looks tired and needs updating in rooms but I would come back again lovely location close to town centre .there is a park right across the road where children can let off steam and close to the estuary . The car park also got lovely views I think it is brilliantly located

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews