We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Will use it again - good value.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Will use it again - good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed for one night when in Chatham on business - chose to try this hotel rather than the usual identikit budget chain establishments.The hotel appears to be a 50s or 60s building, and though not large it is spread over at least five floors. it would appear to have been recently redecorated and refurbished to a good standard. Parking in private car park to rear. Nice lounge bar at ground floor, with restaurant in basement ( no windows!). My single room was quite small, but had a fantastic view over the river, Rochester and most of Chatham. Room was clean, bed comfortable, free WiFi in room. Bathroom had a "wetroom" type shower, and so much exposed plumbing and pipework that it looked like an apprentice plumbers demo piece from technical college! Room was very quiet. Breakfast showed that most of the guests were business and tradespeople working away from home, hence very busy when breakfast started at 0700. Good cooked breakfast. Paid £47 and thought it really good value - recommended to business travellers, although perhaps a little bit "plain" for a holiday break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back with river view - it will be quieter as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGeorgeHotelChatham, Manager at St. George Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you for your review, see you again some time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    101
    37
    11
    9
See reviews for
57
65
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We travelled here for a birthday party and were quite happy with the facilities and cleanliness. Breakfast was good, athough when booking I told them that my husband was a coeliac. He also told them at breakfast and although they provided gluton free bread the cook obviously did not understand the condition as he was given a sausage and baked beans which I do not think would have been checked under the circumstances.Apart from this everything was good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGeorgeHotelChatham, Manager at St. George Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Many thanks for your review. We have noted the comments about coeliac breakfast and will retrain the staff in this dietry condition. We hope to see you again some time soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Good budget hotel, excellent service and breakfast. They had a function on when I was there which was a little noisy, but moved me immediately when I asked for a different room so all was well hence the comment about the excellent service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGeorgeHotelChatham, Manager at St. George Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Many thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent. England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed at St George Hotel for one evening when we attended a friend's wedding reception, also hosted at the hotel and were more than mildly surprised by the quality of the rooms, the cleanliness and the facilities available.

I imagine, although I could be wrong, that St George Hotel is more of a short-stay but that does not mean that any corners are cut. We were very impressed with the room, its amenities and the fact that it wasn't too hot (we could open windows and turn down the heating). The hotel restaurant provided a full and varied breakfast menu (we didn't stay for dinner at the restaurant so cannot comment) and the food was of a good quality.

The service and courtesy of the staff was commendable. It was a delight to stay at the George Hotel and I would have no concerns about staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lastgothstanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk s.east
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Booked for one night stay with a friend, the room was for 2 adults +1child and had good size bathroom/shower room (shower gel and towels supplied) and separate wc, all very clean and kettle with coffee/tea etc was also supplied and a tv. Had a meal which was more than plentiful and very good value. The staff were all friendly and made you feel relaxed and welcomed, whether on front desk, bar, cleaner, restaurant which was really nice. I would not hesitate to stay here as a woman on my own as felt very safe and caring.

The booking cost came with breakfast, which had a menu with several choices which made this hotel more value for money, better and cheaper then your bulk standard Travel lodges.

I would definately recommend this hotel if you are needing somewhere to stay over for a few nights, it is close to chatham train station and not that far off the M2.

Room Tip: you could ask for a river view if you were spending a little time in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bornvariable3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rasfishfish, Manager at St. George Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.7 km away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
3.1 km away
Premier Inn Chatham/Gillingham (Victory Pier) Hotel
1.7 km away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gillingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
4.4 km away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
3.7 km away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Hotel

Property: St. George Hotel
Address: St. George Hotel 7-8 New Road Avenue, Chatham ME4 6BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,458 - ₹ 6,645
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Chatham/Rochester boarder the St. George Hotel is the ideal base at the heart of the Medway towns.We have 45 bedrooms all en suite, digital tv and radio, hospitality trays and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St. George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing