We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unacceptable and very disappointing”
Review of Ship & Trades

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ship & Trades
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Reviewed 4 September 2017

I had dinner with my friend the other day and it is sad to say I won't be returning anytime soon. The starters tasted ok but it took longer then it should have done for some olives and bread. My friend recommend the butter milk chicken for mains. However, when it came out she said it was nothing like what she had. The chicken was undercooked and it still had veins running though every peace. I asked a waitress and she said it was meant to be like that??!!?? I then asked if I could have the pizza instead and it took 40 minuets until that came out, even then it was burnt. lucky I filled up on bread, olives and sweet potato fires to keep me from starving until then.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Squid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017

The wife and I stopped at The Ship & Trades recently whilst shopping at the Dockside outlet centre.
Not been before but the sun was out and we managed to blag a table outside.
Very much a Shepherd Neame pub (and hotel - who knew?), decor is sort of modern maritime.
Tried, for the first time, Shepherd Neame's Spitfire Lager - not bad at all. They also had 'Whitstable Bay' lager on tap. Tried a pint but it was no where near cold enough so back to Spitfire.
I had rack of ribs & my wife had bangers and mash. All OK. Standard pub grub, cooked well & presented nicely.
Only criticisms of this place - they had run out of certain dishes when we tried to order (no fish and chips/steak & ale pies). Also really slow clearing tables of plates and empties.
Appreciate this was a bank holiday weekend but A) Have enough of the whole menu to provide for the extra custom B) Get a few more staff in to help clear up due to being busier than normal.
Other than that all good & we shall return, maybe.

Room Tip: We only ate here. Standard pub fare served in a 'fend for yourself' style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klubfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We popped in here after work as it was nice and sunny so wanted to sit outside with a glass of wine and eat dinner. We both ordered burgers as the lunchtime menu had finished (I much prefer the lunch menu). Burgers came over cooked, had the most over powering relish with burnt buns. I had one bite and left mine. Sweet potato fries were lovely. I used to love it here but the last 3 visits haven't been nice so won't be eating there again as it's not exactly cheap either.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlyCioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We have eaten at the bar and restaurant in the Hotel several times over the last 3 years in both small and large groups at quiet and busy times. Each time it seems to be getting worse and it only survives by its excellent location and lack of local gastro pub competition. The operators - Shepherd Neame have other good pubs and they need to take urgent action to vastly improve service. The speed of service is glacial , 4 hours for 3 courses recently. The food is overpriced and poor quality. The staff are young and inexperienced and left to make weak excuses for poor service by invisible management.
We will encourage all thinking of going there to think again and use the other family restaurants in the Dockside retail area.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank blueman7089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

my friend is gluten intolerant so can't have any bread. She ordered a burger without a bun.. they brought her out a veggie burger covered in bread crumbs, when she sent it back the young girl told her it's what she ordered so that was sent back. She then ordered a olive / humus gluten free bread board. The stick veg int the humus was about 3 days old and turning brown so that was sent back!
My other friend ordered a normal burger & chips. the burger came out cremated!
I had a prawn sandwich, on my last bite I saw a hair on my plate!
when we complained about the food we were told.. It's ok i'm sure the food will be better next time! no apology or mention of a refund or money off!!
There will be no next time

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lisa-luan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
0.6 km away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
6.9 km away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
6.3 km away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
665 reviews
2.6 km away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
335 reviews
8.9 km away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#1 of 1 in Shorne
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship & Trades? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship & Trades

Address: The Ship & Trades Hotel Maritime Way, Chatham ME4 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range: ₹ 7,079 - ₹ 10,651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ship & Trades 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ship & Trades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship & Trades Hotel Chatham
The Ship And Trades
Ship & Trades Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing