We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
143
151
79
42
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
151
79
42
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub co op nautical theme historic dockyard stayed here for one night car park would stay again visiting chatham full english breakfast good size nice stay saturday night comfy bed cooked breakfast an evening meal lovely room member of staff
Filter
Updating list...
419 - 424 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Stayed for two nights as a base to visit historic dockyard and RE museum. A lively pub situated on the side of the Marina. Ten minutes walk from dockyard, thirty minutes walk from RE museum. Room was fairly small but comfortable. Good shower. Very good full English breakfast but our evening meal wasn't as tasty. (I had sweet and sour beef) Staff were friendly and helpful, beer was well kept. it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rsturner47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The location is OK, very near the Historic Dockyard. Rooms are spacious enough and sympatheticly decorated. Parkingspace is available, but insufficient because it is used by all the shoppers for the Outletcenter nearby. Service wasn't really good. But the most annoying part : it was NOISY in the bar, the restaurant, on the terraces, the airco/ventilation.....

Room Tip: choose for the rooms at the parking side...no nice view, but less noisy !
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellaAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This is a nice pub / hotel.
Rooms are clean and tidy, though they do have an unusual geography with steps just inside the door making them unsuitable for disabled. I spent a comfortable night, though as someone commented, it can be quite noisy on a nice evening when there's a lot of people sitting outside.
It is worth remembering that the Ship and Trades is a pub with rooms, rather than a hotel with a bar. If you remember this, you won't go far wrong.
I didn't have dinner in the evening, but breakfast was excellent.
I would happily recommend.
The rooms, by the way, are named after Royal Naval warships which had been made in the Naval Dockyard.

Room Tip: Ask for a Marina side room.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyAsbestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Only stayed one night, but would do so again without hestitation. Rooms looked like new. They were clean, fresh and comfortable. The welcome was very friendly. The food was good standard pub fare which could be eaten in the bar area or the upstairs restaurant. Although busy the service was prompt and attentive. The location was excellent for many local attractions, including the Historic Dockyard, which is two minutes away, and the outlet shopping centre a hundred metres away. There is plenty of free parking.

Room Tip: Have one facing away from the car park.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Festie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst we were visiting the local attractions.
Please ignore reviews older than a year ago as the hotel has been refurbished since then.
We had room 8 which overlooked the marina which was a bonus. Our room was pretty big and had a bath. It was clean and modern and had everything you need for a night.
My partner did moan about a noise overnight from something which sounded like an air conditioning unit outside but to be honest I had the best nights sleep in a long time!
My parents had room 1 which was a lot smaller than ours and only had a shower so it was a bit of a cheek that it was the same price to be honest.
They also complained about the noise from 11pm-midnight when the pub closed and all the people hanging about outside but other than that it was fine.

The cooked breakfast was perfect. It wasn't a buffet but there were cereals/juice to help yourself to.
We also had a meal in the restaurant the night before which was really good. It did get quite busy though so it might be best to make a reservation when you check in.

It really is walking distance to Dickens World (5 mins) the Dockside Outlet centre (2 mins) and Chatham Dockyard (10 mins). It's a safe walk away as well not crossing major roads or anything.

It would be a perfect location on a summers evening but it was a bit cold to sit outside unfortunately!
If we are ever in the area we would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back not the car park side
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJ_The_Globetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews