We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional. No WOW factot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed here for a cheap weekend to visit Rochester. Have stayed here before but not for a long time. Usually stay in Sevenoaks/Maidstone holiday inn
Disappointed with the size of the room. Two ladies, we booked an executive suite. On arrival we were shocked to find just one double bed. No two double bedded rooms in the hotel. Oh well. Small room was functional. Bathroom needs updating and a new shower. Booked dinner bed and breakfast. Breakfast fantastic. No faults. Dinner was dreadful on both nights. I Ordered a caesar salad ( plain as it was £2 extra for chicken ). Now to me ceasar salad is more than a dish of chopped iceberg lettuce with vinegary dressing. Awful.
The pool is much smaller than I remembered. The gym is tiny
Won't be rushing back to this hotel. Much prefer Sevenoaks/Maidstone

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nananix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent visit with us. I am sorry to learn you were disappointed with your stay. Unfortunately, we do not have double twin rooms in the Hotel. Thank you for your feedback with regards to your dinner, I will pass this feedback to our Head Chef. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable Breakfast during your stay. I am disappointed that you feel that you would not return to the Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (676)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

534 - 538 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have stayed at various Holiday Inn Hotels but not this particular one. We booked two rooms as we travelled with our 17 year son. His room was ok but was surprised with our executive room. The room was basic, with just bath robes but no slippers, the mirror in the bedroom was stained so couldn't use it. The sofa had stains as well. Apart from that the room was clean and ok for the night. The hotel has got a gym and a swimming pool although we did not use it, we saw families happily swimming in there.

We had dinner in the main restaurant and it was very nice although we had to wait a long time for it. Breakfast was good to wake you up for the day. All in all not a bad hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay. I am sorry to learn that the room was not cleaned to our usual high standards, please be assured that I have passed your feedback on to my Housekeeping Manager for review. Unfortunately, we do not offer slippers in our Executive Rooms, we are currently working on getting this information removed from our website. I do apologise for the inconvenience this caused. I am pleased to hear that you had a good dinner and breakfast in our Traders Restaurant. Thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with my wife when in the area for a wedding.Welcome was cool but professional. Room was OK,and the general public rooms were clean and well decorated. Bathroom was also OK. Good TV and our room overlooked the central quad. The breakfast was very nice, a wide variety and adequate service.We had dinneron 1 night which was disappointing. Choice was not wide, and the special (Lamb & Chorizo pie) was bland. The hotel seemed quite noisy, with children playing in public areas & corridors at the weekend, even knocking on our door before running away.

Room Tip: Noisy rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prifathro1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

Prifathro1953,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We’re sorry that you received service that was less-than-satisfactory. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stay here from time to time, since this is conveniently close to where I need to be. The hotel is nothing special, the rooms are basic but ok. The organization throw some surprises (wrong date of arrival), but in the end everything turns out well. This hotel has a small gym and a swimming pool including hot tub, which is complementary for guests.
In the bar, they serve some snacks and the hamburger is very nice. Usually there is some soccer on television.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a non-smoking room if you want this or you may get a smoker's room.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbijnens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your reservation was for the wrong date; however, I am pleased that we were able to sort out the error quickly for you. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Chatham for two nights in an executive room. The room was clean and comfortable - with a good view overlooking the airfield.
The little extras of complimentary water and chocolate bar plus towelling robes and good quality toiletries were appreciated, as was the delivery of a newspaper each morning.
The breakfasts represented good value-everything was nicely cooked and presented and the staff were friendly and helpful.
We also ate in the restaurant in the evenings and again found the food nicely cooked - although I personally found the restaurant very cold, temperature wise. The restaurant manager was very pleasant but the serving staff were unfortunately not as well schooled in customer service. Generally the bar area was pleasant - although the clearing of tables left a great deal to be desired in the evenings - many people were having bar meals and unfortunately the detritus remained on the tables well into the night despite staff walking past - i personally cleared a table to enable us to sit and have a drink after our meal in the restaurant - this was not commented upon by the member of staff at the bar when she took possesion of the plates, glasses etc.
The health club including the pool were clean and nicely managed - staff were very friendly and informative.
All in all an enjoyable stay -well located for Rochester and Chatham Historical Dockyard and I would have no hesitation in returning to stay again.

Room Tip: I believe rooms to the rear of the building are quieter albeit further away from reception and main...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CovKid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
0.7 km away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
5.7 km away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
5.1 km away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
326 reviews
6.1 km away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 17 in Maidstone
1,768 reviews
7.6 km away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#9 of 17 in Maidstone
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham

Address: Maidstone Road, Chatham ME5 9SF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range: ₹ 4,849 - ₹ 9,786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel. This modern, well equipped hotel contains fully air-conditioned bedrooms all with high speed internet access. With our mix of Double, Twin & Family Rooms (Kids Stay & Eat Free) and fuly equipped Spirit Health & Fitness Centre with Pool, the hotel is the ideal location for both business & leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is ideally located for key attractions including Leeds Castle, Historic Dockyard Chatham, Rochester Cathedral, Dickens World & Brands Hatch Race Circuit. Access to the Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is easy via both the M2 & M20, or by train to Rochester station, making the hotel a central base for touring Kent or a convenient stop-off en-route to Folkestone and Dover.For Conference & Events, the hotel has fantastic facilities for all types of Meetings, Functions & Ceremonies within the Academy Conference Centre. Click here for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham Hotel Chatham
Holiday Inn Chatham
Chatham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing