We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly, but not quite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms
Ranked #67 of 74 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Very central hotel means you are never far from all the attractions of this amazing city. It also means you are a long way from your car so pack light! We stayed in the Cathedral Room. The walls and windows were paper thin which means you hear EVERYTHING going on below, even with the windows closed you can hear every word of a conversation taking place below. This is a very very old building however so you can excuse it little. The owner was very nice and looked after us well. The room was clean and the beds comfortable, Breakfast was huge but it's a shame the butter was not butter and the jams were quite cheap (think supermarket value range and you'll get the idea!) Pity, as the hot food (sausages and bacon etc) seemed decent quality. All in all very good, would I go back? Yes, I would.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceebee1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

You can't get much more central to Canterbury city centre than The Sun Hotel. The location is excellent. The furnishings, however, are pretty worn and dated. The water temperature in the shower refused to get hot, and the noises from the street came in loud and clear through the windows. It was also possible to hear the conversation going on in the room next door at 3 in the morning as clear as a bell. Breakfast was standard. If you're looking for a comfortable stay, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeepCalmKeriOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The location of this hotel was perfect, central, close to some excellent restaurants and near to the shops. The pro's of this hotel were the location and the staff were very accommodating, happy to order taxis and provide all that was asked of them. I would however note that the rooms could have been cleaner, by that I mean it was dusty in places and cobwebs on the lampshades. The beds could've been more comfortable and there was no reception on the TV especially as we had 2 TVs, we couldn't watch anything which was a shame and would've been nice while we were getting ready. The breakfast was substantial and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank DubBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband went to Kent University so we decided to go for his big 40th birthday there. We have been to Canterbury so many time so we know exactly where it is and how nice it is (from the outside). Everything went well, there was almost empty and not a shadow of a staff apart from the one open the door for us when we just arrived but still nothing to complain. Breakafast was OK and the 2 staffs were trying their best. However 1 hour after we left, I was on the train home and I realised I forgot my phone charger. Called the hotel straight away, noone answered, left a message. Called back the next day, noone answered again, emailed, no reply... Could never get hold of them. I cant believe I paid nearly £200 for a service like that. It is just a small matter of lost and found and just a small matter of pick up the phone and answer that but noone bothers. Will never ever go there again.

Room Tip: I read reviews before booking the trip but because I have passed the hotel so many times so I though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mods63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Great central location, pedestrianised centre makes car parking restrictive so be prepared for a reasonable walk to a car park if you arrive by car, once at the hotel your in a great central location. Cathedral, shops & restaurants in close proximity. Building dates back to 1500's so rooms and corridors are designed to fit in with the character of this old building but it has character. If your looking for a hotel in a great location, then this is for you, if you are looking for a hotel with lots of modern facilities then you will have to compromise and stay out of town. Breakfast choice is full english or continental and is served rather than buffet style but the quality and quantity of the English breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
0.1 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
1,986 reviews
0.2 km away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#9 of 16 in Canterbury
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hawks Lane Lodge
Hawks Lane Lodge
#38 of 74 in Canterbury
28 reviews
0.3 km away
The White House
The White House
#6 of 74 in Canterbury
379 reviews
0.2 km away
Greyfriars Lodge
Greyfriars Lodge
#65 of 74 in Canterbury
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms

Address: Canterbury CT1 2HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: ₹ 8,271 - ₹ 16,086 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Canterbury
Sun Hotel And Tea Rooms Canterbury, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing