We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“No frills hotel certainly true” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
2 reviews
“No frills hotel certainly true”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

I had expected a budget hotel but did not expect a very old mattress where I could feel the springs or twin beds. In addition, the TV had limited options and the building was in great need of upgrades. I did not have any other complaints at all about service or location. Fabulous! I might recommend something other than American beer in the lounge.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments about the location and service and will ensure these are relayed to the team.

However, I was very disappointed to read your comments about our “Value” accommodation. Please accept my reassurances that rooms in this part of the hotel are cleaned to the same high standard as the rooms in the main hotel. We are currently in the process of refurbishing all our “Value” rooms and expect the first of these to be completed by the end of June.

If you are planning a stay in Canterbury again, I do hope we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel and showing you the improvements we have made.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    297
    67
    17
    10
See reviews for
154
638
39
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

I booked this hotel after looking at tripadviser and looking at the reviews.
Ignore other reviews who suggest rooms are small, service limited etc - this really is a gem of a hotel. It's not a full service one but delivers based on price, location and quality of rooms.
One issue is parking in Canterbury so get a space included with the room booking but also beware sat nav's are ok but the road works mean its a huge challenge to find the way in.
Once parked in the grounds you realise you are staying in the shadow of this magnificent cathedral.
So with parking adding to the value you also get free entry not the cathedral....worth another £20 for two.
Finally walk through the grounds at sunset in perfect silence.....now all the public have been turfed out....it's amazing and worth every penny spent.

Room Tip: Book a double even if only a single required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments about your stay at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. I was delighted to hear how pleased you were with the quality of accommodation, price and location of the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Being inside the Cathedral grounds it provided great views and felt special. Good location to all the bars and restaurants in Canterbury and the staff were all friendly. The room was on the small side although modern and clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and to read your comments about the quality of customer service.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

If you are visiting canterbury, this is the only place to stay. Set within the cathedral precinct, which takes up about 25% of the old town of Canterbury and normally costs £9 to get in, Staying here you are able to come and go as you choose. It is lovely in the evening when the crowds have gone and you are able to walk around more or less on your own and feel part of the community of the cathedral. I attended two services in the cathedral asnd was able to walk straight into a side door in seconds.
The staff were excellent as was the breakfast. Also a beautiful private garden for sitting out.
Not a complaint but a suggestion.- although the nearest path was about 20 feet away, so the problem is probably more imagined than real, I would have felt happier with some form of net curtains to the window of my ground floor room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brenthambrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. I was delighted to hear you were able to attend two services in the Cathedral and to read your remarks about our staff and the quality of our food offering. Please accept my reassurances that I will be sharing the content of your review and kind comments with the rest of the team here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel is actually a conference center located in the middle of the cathedral grounds, and for a combination of access to the cathedral and general location, it's hard to beat. While not a hotel per se (i.e. no bar or restaurant - but a perfectly acceptable breakfast as well as beverages available at any hour), the accommodations were comfortable and it was nice to be able to come and go on the cathedral grounds while among peaceful surroundings.

I enjoyed being part of the cathedral community and found the price of the hotel - which included breakfast and access to the cathedral (not free), and discounts with a list of restaurants and shops - to be a good deal. My one caveat would be that if you're looking for a wild time in town, this is not your place as it is a sacred - although not stuffy - place. Quite restful, though!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank latte4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We were delighted to hear how much you liked the location of the hotel and its surroundings

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
0.1 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
3.9 km away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,858 - ₹ 11,619
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the grounds of the magnificent Canterbury Cathedral you’ll find the perfect retreat. The best located accommodation in the City - rooms are in a private courtyard and provide stunning views of Canterbury Cathedral, which guests also enjoy free entry to. You will receive a dedicated, friendly service in a setting that’s peaceful, secure and relaxing. It’s the ideal base to explore Canterbury’s picturesque, cobbled streets and visit the City’s excellent eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing