We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Birthday Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprise Birthday Treat”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Every year on our respective birthdays, my husband and I book a surprise venue for each other, making sure that the venue has some special meaning to us. So for my birthday on 29 April my husband booked us into the Lodge for the weekend (It was the Cathedral that was the attraction)and I only found out at Victoria Station as we were leaving London on Friday 27 April. Every aspect of our stay was wonderful, from the friendly reception at the beginning, the wondeful dinner & champagne at Abode's the quiet thrill of ringing the doorbell after the Cathedral gates had closed for the evening and being let in and of course the beautiful, beautiful Cathedral itself. Even the awful weather did not put us off, we still managed to wander around the cobbled streets and enjoy the sites. It was a perfect birthday in every way.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happibunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your recent review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your Birthday weekend and look forward welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    316
    69
    21
    10
See reviews for
165
685
43
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The hotel is difficult to find, after several false starts we got there, and parked next to the hotel (its worth booking a parking space well in advance). FYI turn left down the Burgate then right just after the Thomas Ingoldsby pub) through the Cathedral security gate.

We had a large bay fronted room overlooking the Cathedral, truly a magical view, especially under floodlights. That was the high spot. Whilst not exactly dirty, the room could have been cleaner. Two of the window handles were missing, and generally the decor was rather tired, with depressing green curtains. Not a good design choice. The bathroom was basic. All in all the decor was that of a cheap chain, I would have expected better, after all it is marketed as luxury.

Breakfast was good for the early birds (my son and daughter in law had a 07.30 start), but at 9.00 a.m the food was leathery from being too long in warming dishes. In spite of the fact that there seemed to be plenty of kitchen staff milling around to cook to order, it all had the air of mass catering in an institution.

Would I go again? Yes if improvements are made, as the location is truly "divine"

Room Tip: Ask for a Cathedral view. Inspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaJonesLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time send us your feedback about your recent stay here at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge.

Please accept my apologies for the difficulties you encountered whilst trying to locate the hotel. As you may have gathered from previous reviewers comments about location and our responses; we have tried without success to gain authorisation from the local council for external signage. However, we do attempt to make our location as clear as possible on our website and include maps with the following text in our “Find Us” section:

From Ashford International Station follow signs for A28 (signposted Canterbury) for approx 14 miles, through Bilting and Chartham.
 Continue on this road, taking 3rd exit at Wincheap roundabout – A28.
 Straight over next 2 roundabouts following signs for Margate.
 After 2nd roundabout (St Georges) you will be in Lower Bridge Street - turn left into Burgate.
 7am - 6pm turn right into Postern Gate, just after Thomas Ingoldsby Pub (Marked “B” on map below).
 6pm - 7am continue down Burgate, turning right into Christchurch Gate on the right just after Starbucks (Marked “A” on the map below)
 After 9pm – ring brass bell on left hand side of the Christchurch Gate to gain entrance.

I was disappointed to read your comments about the standard of cleanliness in your room, as this is something we pride ourselves on. Please accept my reassurances that we will ensure any necessary corrective actions are implemented. I was also sorry to hear that the décor was not to your taste and the standard of breakfast did not meet expectations. Again, these are areas in which our customers typically provide positive feedback.

As always, we value all feedback and aim to implement necessary improvements where appropriate.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My parents and my partner and I stayed at the Cathedral Lodge for three nights in two rooms. One was a fully accessible double room, with en suite wet room, fully fitted with hand rails and walk in shower. This was the reason for booking this hotel room as both parents are in their seventies and have some mobility issues. We stayed in a twin room, but reception had arrange for the housekeeping staff to arrange the beds as a double.
Rooms were spacious, clean, warm, comfortable, had sufficient hanging space, drawers, hair-dryer, spare sockets, WiFi, extra seating, desk space and large windows that open. They view of the cathedral from the window was a bonus.
Parking on site (for a fee). Buffet breakfast was excellent. Staff were always very helpful.
Being able to walk in the grounds in the evening was good, being in the vicinity of such an ancient and fabulous building made one mindful of the people who built it, worshipped in it, made pilgrimages to it. I found it calming and I do not mean in a religious sense. You cannot help being moved by its presence and beauty.
Anyway this is meant to be a review, and the hotel and its location brought Canterbury to life 24/7. Canterbury and all its cobbled streets and attractions were on your doorstep by day and at night you were transported back in time as you wandered the grounds with only the cathedral for company.

Room Tip: Cathedral View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emjayemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for commenting (so beautifully, may I add), on your experience in Canterbury and with your stay with us at The Lodge.

It is wonderful to hear that every aspect of your experience was what you had hoped for and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Lodge again soon.

My very best wishes

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night at this fabulous modern hotel set within the grounds of Canterbury Cathedral.We were able to park overnight in the grounds of the Cathedral which made for complete peace of mind. Our Room had the most fabulous view of the Cathedral which was lit up at night. .By staying at the Lodge you get free admission to the Cathedral itself.Access to the town is excellent and you could shop till you drop in Canterbury as it has just about every conceivable shop you can think of and pubs and restaurants galore..We stayed for bed and breakfast the latter being excellent with a huge choice of food . The rooms are modern and the beds suprisingly comfortable . I personally don't care for hard beds and for me their double bed was just right.There even a well stocked library come rest room in the hotel . Staff were very friendly and helpful and the whole experience was very pleasant Although we stayed In April we had glorious sunshine for the day which just added to the feelgood factor .We ate out in the evening locally at a recommended Italian restaurant and the food was very good..

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the Cathedral as the views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. You made such positive comments and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay.

Thanks for your feedback regarding the mattress, it's difficult to cater for all taste in this respect, and I am pleased they were just right for you.

Look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Canterbury.

Best wishes


Sally
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at the annex to this hotel with 3 friends in April 2012. We had 2 twin bedded rooms which were fantastic value at £60 each a night. This entitled us to a free breakfast in the 4 star part of the hotel and unlimited visits to the cathedral as well as free parking in the centre of Canterbury. The staff were really helpful and very friendly. Each night they chilled our bottle of wine and let us put our nibbles in their fridge. They helped us locate restaurants we wanted to visit and showed us round the hotel so we knew where to find the gardens and the library. It felt very special ringing the bell each evening at the big wooden door leading into the Cathedral compound after we had gone out for a meal and showing our admittance passes. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thought the hotel was really lovely.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex are brilliant value for money and when we looked at the more expensive rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summerinhastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
0.3 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,914 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
0.6 km away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,082 reviews
1.0 km away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,043 - ₹ 12,023
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing